Current Uses For SGI Machines
#11
RE: Current Uses For SGI Machines
(02-23-2019, 01:14 AM)necron2600 Wrote:  opcode: I am in the same boat.  Daily use of a 600mhz Octane 24/7 with a nice 30" NEC PA301W 16:10 monitor (I prefer single display than dual).  Large drives (even a 2TB SATA in the Octane).  If I need a web browser beyond Dillo or Links (most things I need display just fine graphically in Links except all the popups and ads of course), I launch one via RDP.  
Nothing beats the classic UNIX workstation..  its all about function and business, and designed to stay running all the time.  Why use anything else.

How did you connect the SATA drive? With a SCSI adaptor?
eudatux23
Octane² and O2

Posts: 68
Threads: 4
Joined: Aug 2018
Website Find Reply
02-28-2019, 12:59 PM
#12
RE: Current Uses For SGI Machines
(02-23-2019, 01:14 AM)necron2600 Wrote:  Daily use of a 600mhz Octane 24/7 with a nice 30" NEC PA301W 16:10 monitor

How do you get 2560x1600 from an Octane?

I tried to do something similar with an Octane V12+DCD and the "Picture by Picture" feature of a 27" NEC screen (2560x1440), but failed to create a suitable 2@1280x1440 display configuration file.
jan-jaap
SGI Collector

Posts: 305
Threads: 12
Joined: Jun 2018
Website Find Reply
02-28-2019, 01:19 PM
#13
RE: Current Uses For SGI Machines
"How did you connect the SATA drive? With a SCSI adaptor?"

ACARD ars-2320s couple years back when I thought they were too expensive at 300-400$.  I would buy more if I could but the ones for sale today seem to be sky high prices (2k$USD !).

"How do you get 2560x1600 from an Octane?"

I am happy with 1920x1200 on the 30" NEC.    Everything on the screen is nice and big.  

It is an interesting idea about using the Picture in picture feature..  if you had 2 VPro cards in the octane and setup with Xinerama you could possibly have that display that way.  (technically getting 3840x3200 with two 1920x1200 displays side by side on the same monitor with PIP feature.. assuming that would display well in PIP mode.  you may need to reduce/adjust the resolution to look right).  You could do this with 2 V6's and not have to deal with more expensive V12 + DCD.
(This post was last modified: 02-28-2019, 04:03 PM by necron2600.)
necron2600
Octane

Posts: 83
Threads: 38
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
02-28-2019, 03:47 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)