indy with XZ graphics on irix 6.5
indy with XZ graphics on irix 6.5
Hello to everyone,

First timer here...

I have an Indy system with a 24Bit graphics card and which has IRIX 6.5 installed.
Someone gave me a XZ graphics system (2 boards) which i have installed into the indy.

Does anyone know what the procedure is to reconfigure the operating system to fully support the new XZ graphics card,
so I don't have to reinstall the whole operating system ?

I am new to IRIX...

Jim
jimwaverly
O2

Threads: 1
Find Reply
11-08-2018, 04:20 AM
RE: indy with XZ graphics on irix 6.5
I'm not sure if you do need to reinstall for the XZ when upgrading from the XL/24, but I recommend reinstalling when you switch processor family, graphics or add more disks as IRIX isn't flexible like a BSD or Solaris when it comes to this.

The magma of our souls burns with a mighty flame! Gurren Lagann! Just who in the hell do you think we are!?

Proud member of Team Gurren, the founder, operator, and developer behind IRIX Network. 

I'm carrying on Pete's legacy, and while I'm not perfect, I'm the only man for the job. Believe in yourself. Not in the you who believes in me. Not the me who believes in you. Believe in the you who believes in yourself.

[Image: daigurrensig.png]
Raion
Operator

Threads: 89
Website Find Reply
11-08-2018, 05:48 AM
Because the XZ graphic subsystem is part of the EXPRESS graphics family and the XL8/24 is from NEWPORT, you need to reinstall the graphical subsystem in IRIX. In http://forums.irix.cc/thread-117-post-749.html i have reposted a recipe from Ian Mapleson on how to do this:

Quote:Btw, for those who don't want to do a full reinstall, here's how to reinstall just the gfx/X libraries to switch from one card to another:

Copy the relevant files to disk from the 6.5 base CD and from the relevant 6.5.x CD, in this example using 6.5.26...

mkdir /usr/local/gfx

From Foundation 1:

cd /CDROM/dist
cp eoe* x_eoe* /usr/local/gfx
cd
eject