DINA for Netinstall
#11
RE: DINA for Netinstall
Hi there!!
i just follow the instructions for netinstall but after reboot i got a Media falure error
Autoboot failed.
xio(0)pci(15)scsi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(0)/unix: media not loaded

my sgi is octane rev D
Sad
i tried many times Sad
any solution??
thanks in advance
(This post was last modified: 04-06-2019, 01:01 PM by nikmad.)
nikmad
O2

Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Apr 2019
Find Reply
04-06-2019, 10:33 AM
#12
RE: DINA for Netinstall
(04-06-2019, 10:33 AM)nikmad Wrote:  Hi there!!
i just follow the instructions for netinstall but after reboot i got a Media falure error
Autoboot failed.
xio(0)pci(15)scsi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(0)/unix: media not loaded

my sgi is octane rev D
Sad
i tried many times Sad
any solution??
thanks in advance

Did you install to a drive connected to a supplemental SCSI controller?

If not, you may have an old environment variable set in the prom from a previous configuration. resetenv will reset all environment variables, including boot location, to the system's default.
callahan
Octane

Posts: 63
Threads: 12
Joined: Dec 2018
Find Reply
04-06-2019, 09:54 PM
#13
RE: DINA for Netinstall
Hi Mr callahan!!
idid the reset many times but nothing
!!
the story so far is.
idid fx.64 auto
follow the min install disc1,fountation1-2,apps
also i reset the prom for admin reasons (i had forggoten pass) also the root pass Sad
the system was fully updated before Smile but.... Sad

Now the system i thing is installed( i see files in /root dir from install tools method) but the problem remains
i thing somthing missing in fx.64 story..
the drive is synthed before instalation..
thanks for advice ..
nikmad
O2

Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Apr 2019
Find Reply
04-07-2019, 11:44 AM
#14
RE: DINA for Netinstall
Can you send a screenshot of what you see when you type printenv?

Also, disregard my last comment, through xio ... string is default for Octanes.
callahan
Octane

Posts: 63
Threads: 12
Joined: Dec 2018
Find Reply
04-07-2019, 05:00 PM
#15
RE: DINA for Netinstall
hi this is..
https://ibb.co/hHqwK8f
Smile
nikmad
O2

Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Apr 2019
Find Reply
04-07-2019, 05:34 PM
#16
RE: DINA for Netinstall
Hmm. All that looks right compared to my stock Octane. 

Any chance there is a physical problem with your disk? 

Also, I've never used fx in auto mode, I always manually tell it r/ro and create/sync labels.

Another thing I've heard folklore of is that Irix can fail to load doing a basic reformat presumably because of old blocks that aren't overwritten. The solution there is to use fx's exercise tool in write mode. I can't personally vouch for that being an issue, however.
callahan
Octane

Posts: 63
Threads: 12
Joined: Dec 2018
Find Reply
04-08-2019, 04:12 AM
#17
RE: DINA for Netinstall
Hi again!!
I knew that something missing-messing in fx64-world..
i just did my own root partition ...etc 200mb instead of 130 default root just to break the hiden-bug "header" thing..:
of course in installation i got an error
then i try bootp()xxxx:xxxx/ from install tools with sash64 then unix. in buggy root simple stuck with that unused ide form thing(was still there)
tomorrow i will try in >>inst to do an sh things just for education before i create in fx a simple "set" thinks again as u mention..just to see..
the monster octane was new i "unmaiden" it Tongue and works before my stupidity 20 hours...
too many beers before stuck with forgotten pass...
any way thanks
any other suggestions always help
ps. a message diskXsXhv apears(fail to write because maybe with hvtool?) in broken own root setting-partiton.. when system tries to install basic eoe.system.base sw in the begining..
ps2. i will try to learn more about fx...
cheerzz
(This post was last modified: 04-08-2019, 09:39 PM by nikmad.)
nikmad
O2

Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Apr 2019
Find Reply
04-08-2019, 08:58 PM
#18
RE: DINA for Netinstall
Thanks for keeping this available. It is very helpful for my Indigo2.

Octane2 - Octane II: 2x600MHZ R14000 CPU - 2.5GB RAM - V12 Graphics - DCD

Indigo2 IMPACT  - Indigo2: R10000 195MHZ CPU - 128MB RAM - MaxIMPACT graphics - being sold

Octane - Octane: 2x360MHZ CPU - 1GB RAM - EMXI graphics - sold.

O2 - O2: R5000 180MHZ CPU - 128MB RAM - sold
Krokodil
Octane II

Posts: 42
Threads: 2
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
06-06-2019, 12:37 AM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)