1600SW slows down O2 compared to using VGA
#1
1600SW slows down O2 compared to using VGA
Never noticed this before as I have always used the SGI1600sw monitor with my O2.  But last night I plugged in a 19" Sony FP monitor to compare the screen brightness and notices an increase of speed when IRIX loads the desktop.  Opening and closing apps seems a bit faster.  Overall the system seems less sluggish.  The resolution im running on the Sony through the VGA port is 1280x1024 32x32 bit.  I understand with the UMA memory the higher resolution of the 1600sw may be using more ram than the lower res monitor.  I just didnt think it would be that noticeable.

<r><E>Octane</E> 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram<br/>
<E>1600SW</E> <E>O2</E> 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid<br/>
<E>Indy</E> 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram<br/>
Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram<br/>
Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.</r>
bjames
Octane

Posts: 205
Threads: 53
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
04-16-2019, 02:44 PM
#2
RE: 1600SW slows down O2 compared to using VGA
Hi, yes it's quite noticeable. I suppose it's pushing data for 327,680 more pixels at 32x32 depth so quite an ask for a machine which shares it bandwidth as the O2 does. The CRM -> Display Engine bandwidth size has a direct impact on the remaining available bandwidth for the rest of the system.

Ian did some tests a while ago for something and found the O2 sped up the lower the resolution was (or slowed down with higher resolutions, take it how you want Smile ). You could increase the O2's performance by about 13% he found if you're willing to go to 640x480X16 Smile

Ref Ian's page

http://sgidepot.co.uk/o2arch.html

edit - My O2 now runs at 1440x900 on my 24" Dell with a custom vfo, so the aspect ratio of 16:10 is spot on. This resolution also uses less bandwidth that the standard 1280x1024.

Octane  1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30m (silent fans)
O2 + 1600SW 300Mhz R12K (R10K upgrade mod),  384Mb, 6.5.30m (silent fans)
(This post was last modified: 04-16-2019, 04:40 PM by JacquesT.)
JacquesT
Octane & O²

Posts: 392
Threads: 47
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
04-16-2019, 04:38 PM
#3
RE: 1600SW slows down O2 compared to using VGA
So its not just my imagination then.. I wonder if anyone has been able to create a custom VFO for the 1600SW to drop the resolution slightly. Its a great monitor, but I constantly have a problem with everything being so small to read.

<r><E>Octane</E> 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram<br/>
<E>1600SW</E> <E>O2</E> 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid<br/>
<E>Indy</E> 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram<br/>
Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram<br/>
Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.</r>
bjames
Octane

Posts: 205
Threads: 53
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
04-16-2019, 05:43 PM
#4
RE: 1600SW slows down O2 compared to using VGA
I've never seen a 1600SW run at anything other than 1600x1024...I'm not sure it can run at anything other than the native resolution?

Octane  1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30m (silent fans)
O2 + 1600SW 300Mhz R12K (R10K upgrade mod),  384Mb, 6.5.30m (silent fans)
JacquesT
Octane & O²

Posts: 392
Threads: 47
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
04-16-2019, 07:39 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)