Windows 2000 on a DEC AlphaStation 255/300MHz
#1
Windows 2000 on a DEC AlphaStation 255/300MHz
I've just installed windows 2000 on the AlphaStation and I've managed to get Blender-2.26 up and running and it rendered "test.blend" in 3 minutes and 51 seconds

[Image: qocALoD.jpg]

[Image: zCeGue0.jpg]

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 779
Threads: 136
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
04-03-2019, 11:25 PM
#2
RE: Windows 2000 on a DEC AlphaStation 255/300MHz
I'll try to tackle version 2.48 this evening, but I'll have to reinstall Windows 2000 as a lighter (custom) install, as the disk in the machine is only 1GB and for some reason, Windows 2000 is currently taking up about 800MB of that space, so there's very little room for manoeuvre at the moment!

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 779
Threads: 136
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
04-04-2019, 04:14 AM
#3
RE: Windows 2000 on a DEC AlphaStation 255/300MHz
Oh, that looks cool!

I have to give it a try on my machine, too!

"The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese!"

SGI: Octane MXE, O2, Fuel (defunct), VW320 (defunct)
DEC: PC164, PC164SX, AXPpci
sgt_barnes
O2

Posts: 8
Threads: 0
Joined: Mar 2019
Find Reply
04-04-2019, 06:33 AM
#4
RE: Windows 2000 on a DEC AlphaStation 255/300MHz
For something that never made it to full-fledged release, it's quite solid.

Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Proteus/2, Nord Lead 2, Behringer Model D
commodorejohn
PDP-X

Posts: 148
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
04-04-2019, 06:47 AM
#5
RE: Windows 2000 on a DEC AlphaStation 255/300MHz
It doesn't have directX support, but it doesn't need FX!32 to run X86 applications!

PrBoom works well though with sound!

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 779
Threads: 136
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
04-04-2019, 06:52 AM
#6
RE: Windows 2000 on a DEC AlphaStation 255/300MHz
I wonder if Half Life will run on my 164SX. That would be so awesome!

I'll have to dig up another SCSI drive to try it, though. I don't want to sacrifice my rather intricate NT4 installation...

"The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese!"

SGI: Octane MXE, O2, Fuel (defunct), VW320 (defunct)
DEC: PC164, PC164SX, AXPpci
sgt_barnes
O2

Posts: 8
Threads: 0
Joined: Mar 2019
Find Reply
04-04-2019, 07:39 PM
#7
RE: Windows 2000 on a DEC AlphaStation 255/300MHz
no transparency on the rendered image ???

i look like you have missed a rendering option

Cheers

Eve
computron
O2

Posts: 30
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
04-07-2019, 06:20 PM
#8
RE: Windows 2000 on a DEC AlphaStation 255/300MHz
(04-07-2019, 06:20 PM)computron Wrote:  no transparency on the rendered image ???

i look like you have missed a rendering option

Cheers

Eve

The version of blender that I have installed is a very early version, and test.blend was created on a much later version, so I'm sure that that's where the problem with the lack transparency and reflections lies here.

I haven't yet been able to successfully get a newer version of blender up running on this machine! Sad

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
(This post was last modified: 04-08-2019, 03:36 PM by Irinikus.)
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 779
Threads: 136
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
04-08-2019, 03:35 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)