DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
#1
DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
This video demonstrates DOS emulation performance on a Silicon Graphics Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz.


[Image: TNWhJMc.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 935
Threads: 159
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
03-24-2019, 02:34 PM
#2
RE: DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
Quite interesting that a game that ran fluidly on 486 (max 100mhz) and pentium (max 200mhz iirc) processors runs that slow on a dual 600mhz beast.

Either dosbox is a badly designed software program (C++???) or it is just designed for todays gigahertz cpus that compensate its design flaw with bare processing speed.

I would *love* to see a native Warcraft 2 port on Irix.

Edit: Thanks for the video, Irinikus!!!
(This post was last modified: 03-24-2019, 03:01 PM by TruHobbyist.)
TruHobbyist
Octane

Posts: 74
Threads: 9
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
03-24-2019, 03:00 PM
#3
RE: DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
(03-24-2019, 03:00 PM)TruHobbyist Wrote:  Quite interesting that a game that ran fluidly on 486 (max 100mhz) and pentium (max 200mhz iirc) processors runs that slow on a dual 600mhz beast.

Either dosbox is a badly designed software program (C++???) or it is just designed for todays gigahertz cpus that compensate its design flaw with bare processing speed.

I would *love* to see a native Warcraft 2 port on Irix.

Edit: Thanks for the video, Irinikus!!!

It's a pleasure! Smile

Emulation certainly isn't the answer if you want good gaming performance.

I would also like to see more games ported to IRIX, as you get far better performance.

That being said, games that are designed to run in Windows 95 do seem to run extremely well in SoftWindows 95 (Diablo, Doom 95, as well as Hexen 95 for example.)

[Image: TNWhJMc.png]
(This post was last modified: 03-24-2019, 03:12 PM by Irinikus.)
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 935
Threads: 159
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
03-24-2019, 03:12 PM
#4
RE: DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
This is very exciting. I wonder how well DosBox would work on my 400mhz Octane.
praetor
Co-Founder
*******

Posts: 59
Threads: 12
Joined: Nov 2017
Find Reply
04-05-2019, 01:09 AM
#5
RE: DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
(04-05-2019, 01:09 AM)praetor Wrote:  This is very exciting. I wonder how well DosBox would work on my 400mhz Octane.

not all that great honestly - the gcc build is the one that seems to work the best so far, the MIPSpro build is still not quite working 100%, but I don't know how much faster a MIPSpro build would actually be
gijoe77
Tezro

Posts: 604
Threads: 33
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
04-05-2019, 03:45 AM
#6
RE: DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
Yeah. The GCC build went down without {mostly} a hitch. Except now the keyboard layout is all weird, and when I set the keyboard layout in the config file, it doesn't fix it :\
praetor
Co-Founder
*******

Posts: 59
Threads: 12
Joined: Nov 2017
Find Reply
04-05-2019, 04:37 PM
#7
RE: DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
For the keyboard issue..
try this:
usescancodes=false

dosbox's default config gives a messed up keyboard on IRIX, but its just a config adjustment to correct.
necron2600
Octane

Posts: 83
Threads: 38
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
04-12-2019, 01:23 AM
#8
RE: DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
Tee hee! It works :3

You're a scholar and a gentleman

Now for some gaaaammmmmes

It does indeed run-ish on my 400mhz Octane. It just runs like it's a 386. Command and Conquer is unplayable, but older titles feel like what you'd expect on a 386 or slow 486. Pretty slick nonetheless.
(This post was last modified: 04-12-2019, 05:26 AM by praetor.)
praetor
Co-Founder
*******

Posts: 59
Threads: 12
Joined: Nov 2017
Find Reply
04-12-2019, 04:54 AM
#9
RE: DOS emulation on an SGI Octane2 equipped with dual R14K's@600MHz?
Every game plays differently within dosbox.. just make sure your CPU usage is slightly under 100% .. if its pegged all the time you need to lower the dosbox CPU cycles.  If its under utilizing the CPU then increase CPU cycles with the Function keys.

Some config items of note: (note: not 'full' config.. just interesting pieces of it)

output=opengl   # versus surface
frameskip=20
scalar=normal2x
core=simple
cycles=2000      # the gcc compiled version 073 with O3 optimizations works with cycles=2000 and higher well 

[mixer]
rate=11025
blocksize=4096
prebuffer=40

[midi]
mpu401=none


[sblaster]
oplmode=auto
oplrate=11025
necron2600
Octane

Posts: 83
Threads: 38
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
04-12-2019, 09:57 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)