Pro's and Conns of Maya vs Blender, lightwave and SoftImage?

For discussion of the IRIX OS and the software ecosystem surrounding it, including troubleshooting.
Irinikus

Pro's and Conns of Maya vs Blender, lightwave and SoftImage?

Post by Irinikus » Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:16 am

I'm busy playing around with Maya 6.5 on my Tezro and I have Blender installed on my Mac Pro, Maya definitely seems easier to use as far as I'm concerned.

What are your thoughts regarding Maya vs Blender, lightwave and SoftImage?

gijoe77

Re: Pro's and Conns of Maya vs Blender, lightwave and SoftImage?

Post by gijoe77 » Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:44 am

I'm no expert, but from what my understanding is no one really uses Blender for production work, lightwave was a nice toy, softimage had great animation tools, and Maya is still being used today.

I believe the pipeline for studio's back in the IRIX days used to be: model stuff in Alias PowerAnimator, animate in Softimage, render in Renderman. I'm not sure what the pipelines were when Maya came into the picture.

I personally started learning PowerAnimator first, moved on to Maya, will move on to Softimage next - I play with Lightwave now and then but after using PowerAnimator/Maya, Lightwave seems very unsophisticated and missing many (what I would consider basic) features, and I still can't seem to be able to source any good tutorials for Lightwave. I played with Blender a few times but it was just too strange to me, I am saving learning this one last, if ever, but If someone can give me a good reason why I should start learning the old IRIX version of Blender I would be interested to hear it.

computron

Post by computron » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:52 pm

-Blender, because it's pretty fast, render quality is very good, it had physics etc.....
and it support large SMP computer 256 threads if i correctly remember

-Maya is nice too, but to much slow and lack of many cpu render options....... no more than 2 or 4 cpu on my 32cpu Origin

Cheers

Laurent