Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

For discussion of the IRIX OS and the software ecosystem surrounding it, including troubleshooting.
Post Reply
bishopcop
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:41 am

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by bishopcop » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:38 pm

I just noticed the uncategorised folder also, before I could not access this folder, now it has all those files.

User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by gijoe77 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:28 pm

duchamp wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:32 pm
Seems the recent uploads are in the "uncategorized" folder. Thanks for the Discreet SparkO2 files, gijoe! I will have a look at it in the near future. Hope you can test Barco Creator and Discreet Flame 4, both should possibly work on older SGIs. Creator is even multithreaded (years before Photoshop!), just have to set the number of processors in a configuration file, if i recall correctly.
awesome! I'll be playing with it soon.

User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by gijoe77 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:34 pm

kikems wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:40 am
gijoe77 wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:47 am
I'll upload my ISO's of Alias3 and 6, I'm just waiting to see what happens with the stuff already uploaded and if .ISO formats are allowed on the FTP
Thanks, the first step to obtain a method to do it works it's make the CD or the app available. Remember upload all CD not only the app CD, content CD with scenes, objects, tutorials or promotional videos are very important too .
seems the FTP's incoming dir isn't taking anything new atm

Code: Select all

Command:	STOR Alias.Oct.1993.tar.gz
Response:	553 Could not create file.
Error:	Critical file transfer error

bkd
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 2:04 pm

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by bkd » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:20 am

Guys, I have somewhere DL Inferno 3.1 (for IR2) downloaded about 8 years ago but untested since I have no Onyx. Anyone needs it?

User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by gijoe77 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:45 am

bkd wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:20 am
Guys, I have somewhere DL Inferno 3.1 (for IR2) downloaded about 8 years ago but untested since I have no Onyx. Anyone needs it?
yeah upload it!

edit: I can't seem to be able to upload anything yet, let me know if anyone else is having the same issue

bkd
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 2:04 pm

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by bkd » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:23 pm

gijoe77 wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:45 am
yeah upload it!

edit: I can't seem to be able to upload anything yet, let me know if anyone else is having the same issue
Okay! I'll try to search Inferno tomorrow.
Could you please upload Alias 3 and 6 to some other place (mediafire for example) for community can download and test it finally. I always wanted to try out old Alias environment!

User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by gijoe77 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:43 pm

bkd wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:23 pm
gijoe77 wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:45 am
yeah upload it!

edit: I can't seem to be able to upload anything yet, let me know if anyone else is having the same issue
Okay! I'll try to search Inferno tomorrow.
Could you please upload Alias 3 and 6 to some other place (mediafire for example) for community can download and test it finally. I always wanted to try out old Alias environment!
I don't have licensing info for these. Alias3 is COFF only so it will need IRIX 5.3 or earlier only, I forget if Alias6 can or can't run on IRIX 6.5, I think it was possible with the libcoreGL.so hack to fool it to run on newer hardware, but the licensing binary is COFF. I think I might have made a modified install script for Alias3 - I can upload the ISO's if anyone wants those.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/4kds9wm48 ... ar.gz/file

http://www.mediafire.com/file/p2zcfqcvy ... ar.gz/file

bkd
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 2:04 pm

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by bkd » Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:27 pm

Thanks! If you can - please upload original unchanged ISOs too.
I found Inferno already, but ... FTP isn't accepted file.

"Command: STOR Discreet_Inferno_3.1_IR2_CD.tar
Response: 553 Could not create file.
Error: Critical file transfer error after transferring 262 144 bytes in 1 second"


There's something wrong with server. I'll try to upload Inferno to mediafire later but first I need to create an account - don't have one yet.

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by Irinikus » Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:02 pm

Will your copy of Inferno work on an Onyx2 with IR3?

Are you able to provide a license generator for it?
Image

bkd
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 2:04 pm

Re: Alias PowerAnimator v6.0 or v7.0

Post by bkd » Sat Aug 11, 2018 1:06 am

Irinikus wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:02 pm
Will your copy of Inferno work on an Onyx2 with IR3?
The guy who gave me this Inferno CD image told that there are special versions for each graphics subsystem. I don't remember exactly which IR this Inferno match. If it is in SGI notation (as I assume) then this IR2 (for Onyx 2) = IR1 (for Onyx 1). IR2 full for Onyx 2 as you know is IR2e not IR2. It checks hardware at startup so I think it won't work on IR3. Therefore you should find Onyx 2 with original InfiniteReality graphics.
Irinikus wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:02 pm
Are you able to provide a license generator for it?
Of course I would share but unfortunately I don't have one (if such licgen exists at all, I never heard of it for DL Fire and Inferno)... He gave me only distributive (as collectible item), no license or so. And I never tested it as I have no Onyx. As far as I know besides necessarily Onyx hardware check at start up Inferno security subsystem strictly locked at SysID + Hardware Dongle (Sentinel) together. And of course it won't go without Stone array (+ maybe digital video board + other hardware).

Post Reply