I think i found an IRIX software repository

For discussion of the IRIX OS and the software ecosystem surrounding it, including troubleshooting.
User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by gijoe77 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:36 pm

Raion-Fox wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 7:00 pm
I'll look through it tomorrow, I have a lot of stuff to go through this week
hey Raion-Fox,

I have about 3GB worth of nekoware/contrib that I sync'd around jan 2017, I haven't been able to find that dir mirrored anyway, need me to upload my copy?

edit: fixed
Last edited by gijoe77 on Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Founder
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:23 am
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by Raion-Fox » Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:37 pm

Yessir, that's fine
I'm the manager

Besides irix.cc, I run these sites:

projectkitsune.com

kazuo.io

User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by gijoe77 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:48 pm

duchamp wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:48 am
gijoe77 wrote:
Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:44 pm
duchamp wrote:
Sun Jul 22, 2018 3:22 am


You need a license, and licenses were hostid-locked. However, I have a patched ISO which does away with the hostid-checks, and installs on any machine using the same license. Is there any IRIX-ftp or other site, I would be happy to upload it.
there is this sites' ftp -> ftp://ftp.irisware.net/incoming

I haven't tried to upload anything yet (was going to maybe upload all the "contrib" stuff I had from my nekochan mirror - dunno if its wanted yet) but you can give it a shot
OK, I uploaded the patched ISO w/license, we'll see if it becomes available.
I don't see it - can you tarball it and reupload? It might have gotten auto-deleted if not .tar or .gz format

duchamp
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:02 am

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by duchamp » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:06 pm

I don't see it - can you tarball it and reupload? It might have gotten auto-deleted if not .tar or .gz format
Ok, I tried again with a tar file.

I also uploaded the Flame 4.0.2 iso/gz. Very curious if someone can get this working. Actually I managed to patch the license (I believe the Discreet Irix keygen out there does not work for Flame 4) and GFX checks, however I never got past the startup screen on my 6.5.22 SGI O2. Maybe not too surprising (!), it probably is integrated somehow with older series graphics.

Also made a patch so that Flame 8 would run on the O2. Pretty interesting, as the last version of Effect/Flint for O2 was 7.1, however the preview playback was noticeably slower, compared to Effect 7.1 for the O2.

Btw, I remember a post on mood-indigo mentioning that something called "spark772_o2.tar" could be found among other IFF products on the Discreet ftp. I think I read somewhere that this is a later rebadge of Flint for the O2 (previously named Effect and FlintO2), though probably very rare. Interested if anyone has this!

User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by gijoe77 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:19 am

duchamp wrote:
Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:06 pm
I don't see it - can you tarball it and reupload? It might have gotten auto-deleted if not .tar or .gz format
Ok, I tried again with a tar file.

I also uploaded the Flame 4.0.2 iso/gz. Very curious if someone can get this working. Actually I managed to patch the license (I believe the Discreet Irix keygen out there does not work for Flame 4) and GFX checks, however I never got past the startup screen on my 6.5.22 SGI O2. Maybe not too surprising (!), it probably is integrated somehow with older series graphics.

Also made a patch so that Flame 8 would run on the O2. Pretty interesting, as the last version of Effect/Flint for O2 was 7.1, however the preview playback was noticeably slower, compared to Effect 7.1 for the O2.

Btw, I remember a post on mood-indigo mentioning that something called "spark772_o2.tar" could be found among other IFF products on the Discreet ftp. I think I read somewhere that this is a later rebadge of Flint for the O2 (previously named Effect and FlintO2), though probably very rare. Interested if anyone has this!
you got flame working on an o2? very nice - can you share that? I have a few copies of spark for o2 - I'm uploading it now. I have versions 7.6, 7.71 and 8.0. I was never able to get them to work though, they require S+W for the framestore, and swfs complains about the software epoch being too high and it just dies. I've been trying to figure out how to modify swfs.o in IDA Pro to correct this issue, but I'm not really too good at it and I haven't really made any progress. I'm honestly not too good with modifying a "hello world" program with IDA pro, but the struggle continues :) I had a thread about it on nekochan actually... /sob

duchamp
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:02 am

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by duchamp » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:57 am


you got flame working on an o2? very nice - can you share that? I have a few copies of spark for o2 - I'm uploading it now. I have versions 7.6, 7.71 and 8.0. I was never able to get them to work though, they require S+W for the framestore, and swfs complains about the software epoch being too high and it just dies. I've been trying to figure out how to modify swfs.o in IDA Pro to correct this issue, but I'm not really too good at it and I haven't really made any progress. I'm honestly not too good with modifying a "hello world" program with IDA pro, but the struggle continues :) I had a thread about it on nekochan actually... /sob
Yes, I don't have my O2 connected at the moment, but will have a look if I find the patches needed. But, if you have Spark 8 (Flint 8?) for O2, I think there is no need for flame, they are basically the same, I guess, except some of the top end features (and Flame might be slower/less optimized for O2). I'm surprised there even was an IFF 8 release for the O2, it is not mentioned anywhere. Possibly it was only released because some large customers demanded it.

Regarding Stone+Wire and the software epoch, I think the solution is simply to install Stone+Wire from the Flame/Flint 9 set. I accidentally discovered this when attempting to patch Flame 9 to run on the O2 (which I never could get to work). I have never seen the S+W error message after this.

User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by gijoe77 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:46 am

duchamp wrote:
Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:57 am
Regarding Stone+Wire and the software epoch, I think the solution is simply to install Stone+Wire from the Flame/Flint 9 set. I accidentally discovered this when attempting to patch Flame 9 to run on the O2 (which I never could get to work). I have never seen the S+W error message after this.
yeah I tried all that, I don't recall the details but I ended up failing even with that. I think I came to the conclusion I just needed a crack for S+W at some point. I might give it a good college try again, I might have been making a silly mistake last time, and I hope with it uploaded some more eyes can look at it and we can all get it working together

Str1kernaut
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:13 pm

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by Str1kernaut » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:54 pm

It's quite a lot i don't go in the forums. BTW, any updates about the software?

User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by gijoe77 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:26 pm

yes, on the FTP under categorized

User avatar
Titox
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 5:55 pm

Re: I think i found an IRIX software repository

Post by Titox » Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:50 pm

There was a Date Rollup Patch from discreet to repair the epoch time error. I never found this patch but the workarround seems to be install an old or newer version of Stone+Wire. Anyway this is only necessary if you are going to use an stone array. From effect 7 there is no need to use an Stone Array and just works with a file framestore or an additional HDD. I can't get working effect 6.1.3 in this way.

From Flame 2007 is not necessary to use discreet firmware HDDs just using the correct data in DL_license.dat, so this seems the best release to install. I will try tomorrow (if I have enough time) in my O2.

BTW Stone+Wire and a Stone array is not necessary to run Spark 7.6. I got it running today with using the file system as framestore. It doesn't works with my 1600SW and I had to connect my O2 via the VGA cable.
IMG_0182.JPG
duchamp wrote:
Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:57 am

you got flame working on an o2? very nice - can you share that? I have a few copies of spark for o2 - I'm uploading it now. I have versions 7.6, 7.71 and 8.0. I was never able to get them to work though, they require S+W for the framestore, and swfs complains about the software epoch being too high and it just dies. I've been trying to figure out how to modify swfs.o in IDA Pro to correct this issue, but I'm not really too good at it and I haven't really made any progress. I'm honestly not too good with modifying a "hello world" program with IDA pro, but the struggle continues :) I had a thread about it on nekochan actually... /sob
Yes, I don't have my O2 connected at the moment, but will have a look if I find the patches needed. But, if you have Spark 8 (Flint 8?) for O2, I think there is no need for flame, they are basically the same, I guess, except some of the top end features (and Flame might be slower/less optimized for O2). I'm surprised there even was an IFF 8 release for the O2, it is not mentioned anywhere. Possibly it was only released because some large customers demanded it.

Regarding Stone+Wire and the software epoch, I think the solution is simply to install Stone+Wire from the Flame/Flint 9 set. I accidentally discovered this when attempting to patch Flame 9 to run on the O2 (which I never could get to work). I have never seen the S+W error message after this.
:Octane2c: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Fuelb:

Post Reply