Maya 6.5

For discussion of the IRIX OS and the software ecosystem surrounding it, including troubleshooting.
JacquesT
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:06 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Maya6.5

Post by JacquesT » Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:27 am

Hi, yes black white menu, very much like standard X window decoration.

I'll try with with V6 and on my O2.
:Octaneb: 1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30
:O2: 300Mhz R5200, 384Mb, 6.5.22m, FPA with :1600SW: [300Mhz R12k project in the works]

User avatar
def13
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:04 pm
Location: Marseille / France

Re: Maya6.5

Post by def13 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:55 pm

Right, we have discover a Maya V8 feature (^_^)V
Now, the question is : is it fixable ? and how to do it ?

I'm sure, years ago, someone met this trouble and Alias's team had found an answer ...

The only thing I know is when I modifie some specifics lines in :

/usr/aw/maya6.5/app-defaults/maya
or
/usr/people/"my home folder"/maya/6.5/prefs/userPrefs.mel

I can interact with this part of the UI ... I've seen another file where all libraries access are listed ...

But, I'm happy because I'm not alone (^_^!)
Nevermind if SGI is dead ... In SGI I trust (^_^!)
:Octane: 1x400Mhz / 2Go Ram / V8 / Irix 6.5.26

User avatar
def13
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:04 pm
Location: Marseille / France

Re: Maya6.5

Post by def13 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:06 am

Dear friends,

Here is the link to the complete and original Maya6.5 Shaders Library : shaderLibrary

I'm a little bit disapointed, because it's not a "kick ass" library ... Never mind, I'm so happy to have found it and it works great.
Nevermind if SGI is dead ... In SGI I trust (^_^!)
:Octane: 1x400Mhz / 2Go Ram / V8 / Irix 6.5.26

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: Maya6.5

Post by Irinikus » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:24 am

def13 wrote:
Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:06 am
Dear friends,

Here is the link to the complete and original Maya6.5 Shaders Library : shaderLibrary

I'm a little bit disapointed, because it's not a "kick ass" library ... Never mind, I'm so happy to have found it and it works great.
Thanks very much, decent building materials are usually quite hard to come by.

It's not a huge library, but I'm sure it will come in handy :)
Image

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: Maya 6.5

Post by Irinikus » Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:00 pm

I have been able to model in this software without having to zoom in thus far, but in my latest build, I need to.

Question: Is there any way to zoom in without making use of Alt and the middle mouse button, as I don't have a 3-button PS/2 mouse available to me at this time?

I will be getting the necessary SGI peripherals for my IRIS Indigo and Tezro from Ian Mapleson in the next few months.
Image

Post Reply