Connecting O2 To Internet Via Ethernet

Got questions? We have answers!
Post Reply
andybaker2018
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Connecting O2 To Internet Via Ethernet

Post by andybaker2018 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:11 am

Hi Everyone,

I just got my hands on an O2 (thanks to this forum actually) and I want to see if I can get it online.

I have the O2 directly connect to my modem via Ethernet. What do I need to do to get it working?

It's been years since I've used SGI's and IRIX and when I did, they were already setup to go online, so I consider myself a noob to all this.

Thanks!

:O2:

JacquesT
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:06 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Connecting O2 To Internet Via Ethernet

Post by JacquesT » Wed Jul 18, 2018 11:55 am

Hi Andy,

Start off by setting 'chkconfig autoconfig_ipaddress off'

Make sure you set your host name in /etc/sys_id

Edit /etc/hosts and add your ip address of the O2, followed by full domain name and alias

xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx home.local alias - sub with your details

Add your domain and nameserver to resolv.conf eg.

domain home.local
nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (usually your router address if it does dns)

Add default gateway to etc/config/static-route.options

$ROUTE $QUIET add net default xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

(Where xxx. Is your nameserver, router as above)

reboot and try this first...
:Octane: 1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30
:O2: 300Mhz R5200, 384Mb, 6.5.30, FPA with :1600SW: [300Mhz R12k project in the works]

andybaker2018
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Connecting O2 To Internet Via Ethernet

Post by andybaker2018 » Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:42 am

Thank you! I think I've got it all working now.

Post Reply