KVM

Got questions? We have answers!
Post Reply
blacksmith
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 5:01 pm

KVM

Post by blacksmith » Mon Jul 16, 2018 8:05 pm

Hello there,
I've got today a small KVM and connected to an O2 and an Indigo2. Unfortunately no success. It works with the O2 but not with Indigo2. Should I look for a specific brand/model or is something else?
Thanks for help.
:Indigo2: :Fuelb: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2_IMP: :tezro: :Indy:

blacksmith
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 5:01 pm

Re: KVM

Post by blacksmith » Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:55 pm

Sorry guys. All fixed. I had the cables switched.
:Indigo2: :Fuelb: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2_IMP: :tezro: :Indy:

User avatar
bjames
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 1:28 pm
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

Re: KVM

Post by bjames » Mon Aug 13, 2018 3:11 pm

I use a Belkin Omniview pro 4 port on an Octane, O2, Indy and Windows 7 pc. All works great. The only issue I had is when I use the older granite PS2 mouse, the mouse looses signal when I flip from one computer to another. My newer dark grey SGI mouse (common on octane 2 / visual workstations) works perfectly when switching - I am wondering if there is a plug n play circuit inside the newer mouse that regains connection if unplugged and plugged back in.

I also noticed that when I switch computers, its best to wiggle the mouse and hit ESC a few times to keep the connection live while switching.
:Octane: 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram
:1600SW: :O2: 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid
:Indy: 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram
Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram
Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.

Post Reply