DOA O2

For discussion of triage and repairs to SGIs as well as general hardware questions
Post Reply
User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

DOA O2

Post by LarBob » Sat Jul 28, 2018 7:04 pm

So I received an O2 that was working before shipping. However, upon arrival, it no longer works. Red light on the front. Only thing that happens is that the PSU fan spins up. Nothing over serial.

I have tried reseating the CPU board multiple times (also, the plastic is now broken underneath the system board so the screws for the CPU board no longer thread), tried different RAM configurations, and tried the POWER_UP jumper trick, all to no avail.

Any other ideas?

Thanks :)
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

JacquesT
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:06 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: DOA O2

Post by JacquesT » Sun Jul 29, 2018 3:14 pm

Sounds like the motherboard isn't seated on the frontplane, the cpu pimm isn't seated or ram isn't seated. I've twice had the solid red light and once it was ram not seated properly and second time it was after I'd swapped out the original R5k 180 for the Rm5200 300. It took several attemps and POWER_UP jumper starts to get it to run.
:Octaneb: 1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30
:O2: 300Mhz R5200, 384Mb, 6.5.22m, FPA with :1600SW: [300Mhz R12k project in the works]

User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: DOA O2

Post by LarBob » Sun Jul 29, 2018 4:36 pm

JacquesT wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 3:14 pm
Sounds like the motherboard isn't seated on the frontplane, the cpu pimm isn't seated or ram isn't seated. I've twice had the solid red light and once it was ram not seated properly and second time it was after I'd swapped out the original R5k 180 for the Rm5200 300. It took several attemps and POWER_UP jumper starts to get it to run.
I have tried reseating everything quite a bit. :\
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: DOA O2

Post by GRudolf94 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:27 am

Hmm, I would strip it all down and do a careful visual inspection of everything ESPECIALLY connectors. Might use a needle where applicable to see if nothing that shouldn't be loose is, or the opposite. I would concentrate on the CPU module, as that's what the Hardware Reference Guide says it's fuckered if all you get is a red LED. Of course, no CPU also means no console output.

Finally, on an Octane and Indigo², the CPU gets power thru the screw posts. You mentioned plastic and not threading in, and since I've never seen an O2 up close, I can't say that's the case, but...perhaps check that it not screwing in isn't the problem, too?

P.S.: If R10000, might want to pull the heatsink and have a look if nothing under there's damaged or dislodged (Also, if R10000, careful, as the CPU sits on golden springamathings, and usually comes off glued to the heatsink. Can't lose any of the golden thingies in the socket or bad things will happen, can't replace the thermal pad with thermal paste or it doesn't make contact with socket, yadda yadda yadda. Very delicate and finicky assembly).
:Indigo2: R10k@195MHz/64MB RAM/XZ/ATX PSU conversion in the works/acting up
:Indy: R4600@133MHz/128MB RAM/XL-24/Gruesomely plasti-welded together
:Octane: R10k@225MHz/1536MB RAM/SSI

SGI Ultra64...erm, Nintendo64 console :D

and lotsa non-SGI stuff

User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: DOA O2

Post by LarBob » Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:30 am

GRudolf94 wrote:
Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:27 am
Hmm, I would strip it all down and do a careful visual inspection of everything ESPECIALLY connectors. Might use a needle where applicable to see if nothing that shouldn't be loose is, or the opposite. I would concentrate on the CPU module, as that's what the Hardware Reference Guide says it's fuckered if all you get is a red LED. Of course, no CPU also means no console output.

Finally, on an Octane and Indigo², the CPU gets power thru the screw posts. You mentioned plastic and not threading in, and since I've never seen an O2 up close, I can't say that's the case, but...perhaps check that it not screwing in isn't the problem, too?

P.S.: If R10000, might want to pull the heatsink and have a look if nothing under there's damaged or dislodged (Also, if R10000, careful, as the CPU sits on golden springamathings, and usually comes off glued to the heatsink. Can't lose any of the golden thingies in the socket or bad things will happen, can't replace the thermal pad with thermal paste or it doesn't make contact with socket, yadda yadda yadda. Very delicate and finicky assembly).
It didn't work even when I was able to screw it in. And it's a low end O2, R5k 180 MHz. I am wondering if it might be the frontplane as the 2 pin header on it was bent on arrival, suggesting that maybe it got hit (but the case looks fine so... not sure). I have already removed everything and it all looks OK visually besides missing plastics.
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: DOA O2

Post by GRudolf94 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:22 am

LarBob wrote:
Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:30 am
I am wondering if it might be the frontplane as the 2 pin header on it was bent on arrival, suggesting that maybe it got hit (but the case looks fine so... not sure). I have already removed everything and it all looks OK visually besides missing plastics.
If you can see a little bit of damage, and the thing doesn't work, you can bet there's more hiding. You'll want magnification and a well-lit area to look around everything. Worst case scenario is a connector getting ripped off a board and taking pads/traces with it - I've seen it happen quite a few times in other kinds of electronics being shipped
:Indigo2: R10k@195MHz/64MB RAM/XZ/ATX PSU conversion in the works/acting up
:Indy: R4600@133MHz/128MB RAM/XL-24/Gruesomely plasti-welded together
:Octane: R10k@225MHz/1536MB RAM/SSI

SGI Ultra64...erm, Nintendo64 console :D

and lotsa non-SGI stuff

User avatar
gijoe77
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: DOA O2

Post by gijoe77 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:52 am

The problem, as I see it, is you never actually seen it work correctly... Sounds like you have done all the proper steps (you never did pull the motherboard with the power cord connected did you?). Unless you have a working o2 to swap parts with, it's hard to know if you have some sort of bad hardware mucking everything up. I recently had a CPU go bad in one of my o2's - I can't tell you how many times I reseated everything - I even replaced the motherboard.

indy99
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 9:17 am

Re: DOA O2

Post by indy99 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:19 pm

LarBob wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 4:36 pm
JacquesT wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 3:14 pm
Sounds like the motherboard isn't seated on the frontplane, the cpu pimm isn't seated or ram isn't seated. I've twice had the solid red light and once it was ram not seated properly and second time it was after I'd swapped out the original R5k 180 for the Rm5200 300. It took several attemps and POWER_UP jumper starts to get it to run.
I have tried reseating everything quite a bit. :\

Besides reseating everything, have you specifically tried the JacquesT's mention of the power up jumper starts?

As he mentions the O2 Jumpstart procedure was known to occasionally fix the problem of a red led and no power up after shipping or especially rough handling.

Disconnect power, pull the system board tray. Look next to Dallas chip on the system board for a jumper labeled "PWR UP".

If it has a jumper, remove it. If it doesn't install a jumper install one, assemble the O2 and reconnect power. Like in JacquesT's case, it might take a couple of tries.

Been a while since I used it, so if I've left out any steps there was a article in the nekochan wiki on the process. The original article might be in one of the copies that have been revived.

User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: DOA O2

Post by LarBob » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:28 pm

indy99 wrote:
Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:19 pm
LarBob wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 4:36 pm
JacquesT wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 3:14 pm
Sounds like the motherboard isn't seated on the frontplane, the cpu pimm isn't seated or ram isn't seated. I've twice had the solid red light and once it was ram not seated properly and second time it was after I'd swapped out the original R5k 180 for the Rm5200 300. It took several attemps and POWER_UP jumper starts to get it to run.
I have tried reseating everything quite a bit. :\

Besides reseating everything, have you specifically tried the JacquesT's mention of the power up jumper starts?

As he mentions the O2 Jumpstart procedure was known to occasionally fix the problem of a red led and no power up after shipping or especially rough handling.

Disconnect power, pull the system board tray. Look next to Dallas chip on the system board for a jumper labeled "PWR UP".

If it has a jumper, remove it. If it doesn't install a jumper install one, assemble the O2 and reconnect power. Like in JacquesT's case, it might take a couple of tries.

Been a while since I used it, so if I've left out any steps there was a article in the nekochan wiki on the process. The original article might be in one of the copies that have been revived.
Yep, I have tried it multiple times. Thanks though :)
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

JacquesT
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:06 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: DOA O2

Post by JacquesT » Sun Aug 05, 2018 4:37 pm

CPU error also throws up a red light. If it doesn't seat properly or is fixed down it may tilt out of the connector as you put it back in the chasis.

Failing that check your PSU...
:Octaneb: 1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30
:O2: 300Mhz R5200, 384Mb, 6.5.22m, FPA with :1600SW: [300Mhz R12k project in the works]

Post Reply