Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

For discussion of triage and repairs to SGIs as well as general hardware questions
User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by LarBob » Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:42 pm

Hey all, I've got an Origin 300 here and it powered it on for the first time a few minutes ago. I was getting it set up to netinstall when I started to get spammed with

Code: Select all

ALERT: Error reading NODE 1 DS1780 INT_STATUS_1: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error reading NODE 1 DS1780 INT_STATUS_2: no acknowledge
in the console. So I restarted the machine and got into the L1.
Here's the output of pwr:

Code: Select all

Supply          State Voltage    Margin  Value
--------------  ----- ---------  ------- -----
           12V    off       N/A      N/A
        12V IO     NC    0.000V      N/A
       12V DIG     NC ERROR (-204)      N/A
            5V     NC ERROR (-204)      N/A
          3.3V     NC ERROR (-204)      N/A
        5V aux     NC    0.000V      N/A
      3.3V aux     NC    0.000V      N/A
          2.5V    off    0.000V   normal     3
   Speedo2 CPU    off    0.000V   normal    23
          1.5V    off    0.000V   normal     5
Here's some of the L1 logs:

Code: Select all

7/12/18 13:27:00 ALERT: Error initializing the NODE 1 DS1780, no acknowledge
07/12/18 13:27:02 ALERT: Error initializing the NODE 1 DS1780, no acknowledge
07/12/18 13:27:02 ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
07/12/18 13:27:02 ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
07/12/18 13:27:02 ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
07/12/18 13:27:02 ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 fan monitoring: no acknowledge
07/12/18 13:27:02 ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 fan monitoring: no acknowledge
07/12/18 13:27:02 ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 temperature monitoring: no acknowledge
Here's env:

Code: Select all

Environmental monitoring is enabled, but not running (configuration error).

Description    State       Warning Limits     Fault Limits       Current
-------------- ----------  -----------------  -----------------  -------
        12V IO   Wait Pwr  10%  10.80/ 13.20  20%   9.60/ 14.40    0.00
       12V DIG   Wait Pwr  10%  10.80/ 13.20  20%   9.60/ 14.40    0.00
            5V   Wait Pwr  10%   4.50/  5.50  20%   4.00/  6.00    0.00
          3.3V   Wait Pwr  10%   2.97/  3.63  20%   2.64/  3.96    0.00
        5V aux   Wait Pwr  10%   4.50/  5.50  20%   4.00/  6.00    0.00
      3.3V aux   Wait Pwr  10%   2.97/  3.63  20%   2.64/  3.96    0.00
          2.5V   Wait Pwr  10%   2.25/  2.75  20%   2.00/  3.00    0.00
   Speedo2 CPU   Wait Pwr  10%   1.35/  1.65  20%   1.20/  1.80    0.00
          1.5V   Wait Pwr  10%   1.35/  1.65  20%   1.20/  1.80    0.00

Description    State       Warning RPM  Current RPM
-------------- ----------  -----------  -----------
FAN 0     LEFT   Wait Pwr         2160            0
FAN 1   CENTER   Wait Pwr         2160            0
FAN 2    RIGHT   Wait Pwr         2160            0
FAN 3       PS   Wait Pwr         2160            0
FAN 4      PS'   Wait Pwr         2160            0

                           Advisory   Critical   Fault      Current
Description    State       Temp       Temp       Temp       Temp   
-------------- ----------  ---------  ---------  ---------  ---------
NODE 0           Wait Pwr   30C/ 86F   35C/ 95F   40C/104F   26C/ 78F
NODE 1           Wait Pwr   30C/ 86F   35C/ 95F   40C/104F   -2C/ 28F
And if I run pwr up this happens pretty much immediately:

Code: Select all

ALERT: Error initializing the NODE 1 DS1780, no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 fan monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 DS1780 fan monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring NODE 1 temperature monitoring: no acknowledge

ERROR: no command response from 001c01, TIMEOUT
Any ideas?

Thanks all.
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by GRudolf94 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:38 pm

Same thing as a Fuel. Disable environmental monitoring, or get ready to desolder the offender and replace it.
:Indigo2: R10k@195MHz/64MB RAM/XZ/ATX PSU conversion in the works/acting up
:Indy: R4600@133MHz/128MB RAM/XL-24/Gruesomely plasti-welded together
:Octane: R10k@225MHz/1536MB RAM/SSI

SGI Ultra64...erm, Nintendo64 console :D

and lotsa non-SGI stuff

User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by LarBob » Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:57 pm

GRudolf94 wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:38 pm
Same thing as a Fuel. Disable environmental monitoring, or get ready to desolder the offender and replace it.
Ah, tried to earlier but it was stuck in a loop going back to console. Done now! Seems to be working. Thanks. :)

Edit: Actually never mind. It works for one good boot but if I power off again even with environment monitoring off it still shows the error and won't boot properly.
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by LarBob » Fri Jul 13, 2018 2:38 am

Okay, so I've left it sitting for long periods of time unplugged & off and have environment monitoring turned off. Still has the errors from the OP. Turning off environment monitoring hasn't helped besides that one time. :(
Any other ideas?
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by Irinikus » Fri Jul 13, 2018 2:54 am

Try running the system only with node 0 installed, as the error seems to be with node 1.

See if node 1 isn't faulty or if it doesn't have a faulty VRM or if your L1 controller's firmware isn't recent enough (which is probably not the case here, but it's a thought)?

Was your setup originally running in it's current configuration before you got it?
Image

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by GRudolf94 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:40 am

I will still bet on it just being a dead DS1780. We all know they're finicky.
:Indigo2: R10k@195MHz/64MB RAM/XZ/ATX PSU conversion in the works/acting up
:Indy: R4600@133MHz/128MB RAM/XL-24/Gruesomely plasti-welded together
:Octane: R10k@225MHz/1536MB RAM/SSI

SGI Ultra64...erm, Nintendo64 console :D

and lotsa non-SGI stuff

User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by LarBob » Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:26 am

GRudolf94 wrote:
Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:40 am
I will still bet on it just being a dead DS1780. We all know they're finicky.
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Ma ... CGNUL28%3d
So could I replace the chip with this one? AFAIK it should be compatible(?)
Irinikus wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 2:54 am
Try running the system only with node 0 installed, as the error seems to be with node 1.

See if node 1 isn't faulty or if it doesn't have a faulty VRM or if your L1 controller's firmware isn't recent enough (which is probably not the case here, but it's a thought)?

Was your setup originally running in it's current configuration before you got it?
The node board is probably not like what you're thinking here. It's not separated nodes. There's one motherboard, the IO8, and then separated VRMs that plug into the mainboard, etc.. It's probably the DS1780 as the machine works fine once I leave it unplugged for long enough. And according to the seller it was working, so it seems like the DS1780 failed on me as I was using it I guess.
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by Irinikus » Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:34 am

I wasn't aware that you got it up and running properly (booted, beyond the prom), then I agree that it's probably a DS1780 that has failed.
Image

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by GRudolf94 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:02 am

LarBob wrote:
Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:26 am

https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Ma ... CGNUL28%3d
So could I replace the chip with this one? AFAIK it should be compatible(?)
Yes! Same deal as on a Fuel, but it probably is easier to get to the 1780 on the Origin (can't tell, never looked to see where they are on one).
:Indigo2: R10k@195MHz/64MB RAM/XZ/ATX PSU conversion in the works/acting up
:Indy: R4600@133MHz/128MB RAM/XL-24/Gruesomely plasti-welded together
:Octane: R10k@225MHz/1536MB RAM/SSI

SGI Ultra64...erm, Nintendo64 console :D

and lotsa non-SGI stuff

User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 DS1780/12V DIG/5V/3.3V issues

Post by LarBob » Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:29 am

GRudolf94 wrote:
Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:02 am
LarBob wrote:
Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:26 am

https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Ma ... CGNUL28%3d
So could I replace the chip with this one? AFAIK it should be compatible(?)
Yes! Same deal as on a Fuel, but it probably is easier to get to the 1780 on the Origin (can't tell, never looked to see where they are on one).
Okay, is reprogramming it feasible (if you need to, which I'm guessing you do)?
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

Post Reply