My frist Octane

For discussion of triage and repairs to SGIs as well as general hardware questions
Post Reply
1byte
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:11 am

My frist Octane

Post by 1byte » Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:26 am

:Octane:

So I've had this Octane for a while. Mainboard was dead, bought another, and now I get powerup, but no output.

I stuck a hard disk in to see what happened, and they just start to spin up and then quit. I can't remember which LED's are lit on this new board, but I'll get you a readout soon.

Other than this board being no good also, what could cause no serial console output?

Previous issues were no power up. Changed power supply, now I get power supply fan but no heartbeat LED.

Changed board, now I get HDD fan, but no console output.

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: My frist Octane

Post by GRudolf94 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:28 pm

The front diag LEDs on a minimally configured Octane must be lit up like this. I've also added a description of what each is. Tell me what's lit up and we'll go from there

Image
:Indigo2: R10k@195MHz/64MB RAM/XZ/ATX PSU conversion in the works/acting up
:Indy: R4600@133MHz/128MB RAM/XL-24/Gruesomely plasti-welded together
:Octane: R10k@225MHz/1536MB RAM/SSI

SGI Ultra64...erm, Nintendo64 console :D

and lotsa non-SGI stuff

1byte
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:11 am

Re: My frist Octane

Post by 1byte » Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:00 am

GRudolf94 wrote:
Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:28 pm
Tell me what's lit up and we'll go from there

I have exactly the same LEDs. So that's a step in the right direction!

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: My frist Octane

Post by GRudolf94 » Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:47 am

It is! Does the lightbar do something? Are you using a null modem cable and the proper baudrate on the console host?
:Indigo2: R10k@195MHz/64MB RAM/XZ/ATX PSU conversion in the works/acting up
:Indy: R4600@133MHz/128MB RAM/XL-24/Gruesomely plasti-welded together
:Octane: R10k@225MHz/1536MB RAM/SSI

SGI Ultra64...erm, Nintendo64 console :D

and lotsa non-SGI stuff

1byte
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:11 am

Re: My frist Octane

Post by 1byte » Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:28 pm

GRudolf94 wrote:
Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:47 am
It is! Does the lightbar do something? Are you using a null modem cable and the proper baudrate on the console host?
The light bar does nothing. The console is my weak point. I have tried three different serial console/null modem cables. I have multiple, and I have an IBM serial null modem to USB that I can not get to work no matter what - that I fear is a function of modern machines and serial communication, Windows 10 doesn't like USB being assigned COM ports it seems. I have a Toshiba Libretto to use as a console, but I can't seem to get a connection there either. I am sure it's my fault not configuring things right.

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: My frist Octane

Post by GRudolf94 » Tue Jul 03, 2018 6:40 am

Hmm, odd. The lightbar has two white lights and a red LED that the Octane uses to help signal where in the boot process it currently is. The lights usually burn out and need to be replaced by LEDs too, but you should at least see the red one light up as it begins the selftest succesfully. Fans working but no red LED, according to the Octane manual, mean that the IP30 is not well-seated into the case, or the CPU module is not seated/has failed, or that the frontplane is defective.

I would assume your frontplane works good, as it lights up the green diag LEDs, and that the IP30 is properly in place, too. So you can try reseating the CPU.

Be mindful of the compression connectors on the IP30: YOU CAN NEVER TOUCH THOSE. Well, you're not supposed to put your fingers there. I've done it by accident and my Octane still works, but the manual repeats it a thousand times: keep away.

As a last resource, you can try removing the frontplane, verifying that it has no bent pins on the secondary connectors for the IP30, that the pads for the compression connector are clean, and if that doesn't work we'll see from here. But it is sounding like a CPU problem (which would lead to no console output)
:Indigo2: R10k@195MHz/64MB RAM/XZ/ATX PSU conversion in the works/acting up
:Indy: R4600@133MHz/128MB RAM/XL-24/Gruesomely plasti-welded together
:Octane: R10k@225MHz/1536MB RAM/SSI

SGI Ultra64...erm, Nintendo64 console :D

and lotsa non-SGI stuff

1byte
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:11 am

Re: My frist Octane

Post by 1byte » Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:15 am

GRudolf94 wrote:
Tue Jul 03, 2018 6:40 am

I would assume your frontplane works good, as it lights up the green diag LEDs, and that the IP30 is properly in place, too. So you can try reseating the CPU.
Frontplane has also been replaced to a known working good unit. I will try to reseat everything today.

Installed lightbar, no lights. May be dead.

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: My frist Octane

Post by GRudolf94 » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:07 pm

Don't despair just yet, though. I have a few tricks up my sleeve
:Indigo2: R10k@195MHz/64MB RAM/XZ/ATX PSU conversion in the works/acting up
:Indy: R4600@133MHz/128MB RAM/XL-24/Gruesomely plasti-welded together
:Octane: R10k@225MHz/1536MB RAM/SSI

SGI Ultra64...erm, Nintendo64 console :D

and lotsa non-SGI stuff

Post Reply