£30 8 CPU Origin 2000 only worth £22.50 lets add an Oynx 2

For discussion of triage and repairs to SGIs as well as general hardware questions
User avatar
uunix
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:52 am
Location: Stourbridge - England - United Kingdom

Re: £30 8 CPU Origin 2000 only worth £22.50 lets add an Oynx 2

Post by uunix » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:30 am

jan-jaap wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:04 am
uunix wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:45 am
It would interesting to combine it with the o2000 via the routers that HAL told me about. That's for another day though
Had the feeling that would come up. Forget it, it's is not possible to combine an Onyx2 deskside and an O2000 into a single image. There's only one router slot in an Onyx2 deskside, where the O2000 has two. If you were to numalink two O2000 desksides together, you'd use both routers on each system. The Onyx2 is a NUMAlink port short, and the result is not a valid hypercube topology so it will not work.

IIRC, architecturally in an Onyx2 deskside the IR graphics occupies one NUMAlink port on the backplane crossbar, but in the Onyx2 rack the graphics are connected via XIO using the K-Town/X-Town cards. There used to be a 10 page thread in the Nekochan archives <sigh> and believe me people tried everything.

Similarly, nobody ever succeeded in linking an O2000 and an O200 in a single image.
Thanks for the heads up... I shall cross that off my list of things I will never get round to.
Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!
:Onyx2: :O2K_d-1: :O200: :tezro: :Octane2c: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy: :320:

User avatar
uunix
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:52 am
Location: Stourbridge - England - United Kingdom

Re: £30 8 CPU Origin 2000 only worth £22.50 lets add an Oynx 2

Post by uunix » Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:54 am

Update time.

I plumbed in the Onyx2 to monitor / keyboard and the display produced speckling (unsure of a word for it really) all over the screen. So rather than mess around, I went straight for the replacement boards.. upgrade to Infinite Reality 3...


All went well (ish) and obtained the following from gfxinfo..

Code: Select all

Graphics board 0 is "KONAL" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 1280x1024
        Display has 2 channels
        4 GEs (of 4), occmask = 0x0f
        4MB external BEF ram, 32bit path
        2 RM10 boards (of 2) 1/1/0/0
        Texture Memory: 256MB/256MB/-/-
        Medium pixel depth
        32K cmap
All good.. except still speckles.. Alas though I cannot upload the picture.


So I reset everything as mentioned earlier in this and after loosing video and then regaining it back, it's still the same, so i suspect the DG5-2 board.

Darn wish I could upload this picture.

Saying all of that, I will be doing a fresh network install today (if the network install server still has everything in tack that is).

Now, on start-up, the console displays the following..

Code: Select all

Global master is /hw/module/1/slot/n2
*** Barrier sync warning: local=4418, NIC 0x3f2198=4400 (promrev mismatch?)                                  *** Barrier sync warning: local=4446, NIC 0x3f2198=4428 (promrev mismatch?)                                   *** Barrier sync warning: local=4908, NIC 0x3f2198=4890 (promrev mismatch?)                                   *** Barrier sync warning: local=4981, NIC 0x3f2198=4963 (promrev mismatch?)                                   Testing/Initializing all memory ...........              DONE
*** Barrier sync warning: local=5108, NIC 0x3f2198=5090 (promrev mismatch?)                                  Checking partitioning information .........              DONE
*** Barrier sync warning: local=5355, NIC 0x3f2198=5337 (promrev mismatch?)                                  Loading BASEIO prom .......................              DONE
I know I have spoken to someone about this, but can't find the posts or the private emails, and I think it may have been jan-jap so apologies on that behalf. Unless I'm thinking of the Tezro, but no, I am sure it was the Origin 2000 that had the same issue.

So once, I have a nice clean 6.5.30 install, I'm then going to put Inferno on it. I doubt though, this will clear up the screen speckling.

Code: Select all

ONYX 1# hinv
4 300 MHZ IP27 Processors
CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.3
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 2.3
Main memory size: 3328 Mbytes
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 8 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0
  Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI controller 0
  CDROM: unit 6 on SCSI controller 0
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3 serial port: tty1
IOC3 serial port: tty2
IOC3 serial port: tty3
IOC3 serial port: tty4
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: InfiniteReality3
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, module 1, slot io1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 7.0, number 1
Origin BASEIO board, module 1 slot 1: Revision 4
IOC3 external interrupts: 1

Code: Select all

ONYX 2# /usr/gfx/gfxinfo
Graphics board 0 is "KONAL" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 1280x1024
        Display has 2 channels
        4 GEs (of 4), occmask = 0x0f
        4MB external BEF ram, 32bit path
        2 RM10 boards (of 2) 1/1/0/0
        Texture Memory: 256MB/256MB/-/-
        Medium pixel depth
        32K cmap
        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (1280x1024_60.vfo)
        Channel 1:
         Channel's Source Size: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines; Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 640 pixels, 486 lines, 29.97Hz (640x486_30i.vfo)
Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!
:Onyx2: :O2K_d-1: :O200: :tezro: :Octane2c: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy: :320:

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: £30 8 CPU Origin 2000 only worth £22.50 lets add an Oynx 2

Post by Irinikus » Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:31 am

Very nice! :D

These are very interesting machines. (In my opinion, probably the most interesting SGI's.)

I hope you sort your speckling problem out. I got a DG5-8 for very cheap from 3ddoc, so you might want to contact him.

EDIT:

In the future you can get your hands on a pair of dual R14K 500MHz modules and it will give a Tezro a run for it's money.
Image

User avatar
uunix
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:52 am
Location: Stourbridge - England - United Kingdom

Re: £30 8 CPU Origin 2000 only worth £22.50 lets add an Oynx 2

Post by uunix » Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:53 am

Irinikus wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:41 am
uunix wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:23 am
2 x R10 030 1402 001 IR3?
Those are RM9-64 modules.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SGI-030-1402 ... 1576878778
Now, interestingly, these were RM10s and not R9s as your ebay link shows. The part number I supplied came off the board, the box had hand written RM10 and gfx info shows as RM10.. confused . com.
Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!
:Onyx2: :O2K_d-1: :O200: :tezro: :Octane2c: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy: :320:

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: £30 8 CPU Origin 2000 only worth £22.50 lets add an Oynx 2

Post by Irinikus » Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:55 am

uunix wrote:
Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:53 am
Irinikus wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:41 am
uunix wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:23 am
2 x R10 030 1402 001 IR3?
Those are RM9-64 modules.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SGI-030-1402 ... 1576878778
Now, interestingly, these were RM10s and not R9s as your ebay link shows. The part number I supplied came off the board, the box had hand written RM10 and gfx info shows as RM10.. confused . com.
That turned out well!
Image

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: £30 8 CPU Origin 2000 only worth £22.50 lets add an Oynx 2

Post by Irinikus » Sun Aug 19, 2018 9:20 am

I've posted a link to a site that shows the board numbers that constitute an RM9-64, the number that you gave is one of them, but the RM-10 might also have the same board as part of its assembly.

The assembly number differs from the board numbers.

http://bbsolutions.com/francais/sgi/onyx2.html

An RM9-64 consists of the following boards: 030-1402-001/030-1053-001, and has the following assembly no: 013-2464-001.

The RM10-256 has the following assembly number: 013-2954-001.
Image

Post Reply