Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

For discussion of triage and repairs to SGIs as well as general hardware questions
sgi-enthusiast
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:22 pm

Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by sgi-enthusiast » Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:43 pm

Hi,
My first post on this new site so I apologize if this question has already been answered in Nekochan posts.
I am in the process of swapping out my 2Gb Fibre Channel cards in my Tezro for the QLA2462 dual port 4Gb version to try and resolve a HD recording error in smoke "Too many frames dropped" which I suspect is a bandwidth issue. I purchased a pair of these cards but before blundering on, thought I would check whether anyone else has done this for any useful info/tips/requirements?
Appreciate any advise.
Thanks!

User avatar
jan-jaap
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by jan-jaap » Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:29 am

It's a straight card swap, assuming you've got a reasonably late IRIX 6.5.xx installed. This is from the 'hinv' of my O350 which has one (nothing attached right now, though):

Code: Select all

Integral SCSI controller 6: Version Fibre Channel LS949X Port 0
Integral SCSI controller 7: Version Fibre Channel LS949X Port 1
...
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1000, device 0x0640) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1000, device 0x0640) PCI slot 1
The very last PROM version (6.211) has fixes for the 4Gb FC cards so it might be good to look into getting that:

Code: Select all

       Patch 7208:
            Fixes:
                Bug #920528 Fibre panics in tg_set_flow_ctrl() when link partner goes away
I have a pair of these in my Tezro and that works fine too, both with direct attached arrays and SAN storage. Oh, and last but not least: these cards require an O3x0/O3K/Fuel/Tezro generation system, they don't work with the Onyx2 or Octane2.

sgi-enthusiast
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by sgi-enthusiast » Tue Jun 12, 2018 1:44 am

Thanks Jan-Jaap,
I will give that a go and post if its all ok!
Regards

sgi-enthusiast
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by sgi-enthusiast » Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:38 am

Hi Jan-Jaap,
Things started well with installing the patch okay and subsequent re-flash required but the system (6.5.28) does not recognise the cards. I used this procedure.
1. Dropped the cards into a SUN server to access the BIOS and turned it off. Required for using in SGI machines?
2. Installed the patch and re-flashed the PROM according to the patch instructions. No errors reported and the version is now 6.211 (up from 6.210).
3. I installed the two adapters and restarted but nothing in the 'hinv' output
4. I moved them to a couple of different slots to try but still nothing in the 'hinv' output
5. Connected a tray of drives (already tested ok on the 2Gb adapter) and still nothing from 'hinv -c disk' (accept the system drives)
6. I removed them and re-installed the 2Gb adapters and trays and its all working as it originally was.

Is there anything else to change in the card bios before installing it in a SGI?
In "Configuration Settings->Adapter Settings" There was a setting for "Frame Size". Options are: 512, 1024 or 2048 (currently set to 2048). Did you have to change this?
I also noted the Model number sticker on the cards has the part number "QLA4262" then "IBMX" after it. Is it possible the card has vendor-specific firmware in it?
Any assistance appreciated.
Cheers

User avatar
Titox
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 5:55 pm

Re: Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by Titox » Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:55 pm

Seems there is an small confusion:

Code: Select all

Integral SCSI controller 6: Version Fibre Channel LS949X Port 0
Integral SCSI controller 7: Version Fibre Channel LS949X Port 1
...
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1000, device 0x0640) PCI slot 1
This is a LSI7204XP-LC Fibre Channel card, not the Qlogic that sgi-enthusiats has.
:Octane2c: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Fuelb:

User avatar
jan-jaap
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by jan-jaap » Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:19 pm

Ouch, I'm sorry!

sgi-enthusiast
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by sgi-enthusiast » Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:44 am

What???? Those cost me $99 each off a local ebay seller:(
Do these work 'out of the box' or require bios changes to make them work?

sgi-enthusiast
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by sgi-enthusiast » Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:54 am

Meaning the LSI7204XP-LC Fibre Channel card

User avatar
jan-jaap
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by jan-jaap » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:52 am

To the best of my knowledge the LSI driver works with all cards as long as the have the correct PCI VID:DID. No "branding" locks on SVID:SDID.

Let me check my inventory, I think I still have a couple of the LSI FC cards. If that's true you can have a pair for the price of shipping.

sgi-enthusiast
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: Anyone Successfully Use QLogic QLA2462 Cards?

Post by sgi-enthusiast » Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:24 pm

Hi Jan-Jaap,
I ca't seem to locate anything locally here on Ebay so if you do have a spare pair I would be interested in them. I would rather buy them off you though as you would have a monetary investment in them yourself. If you have a pair, just let me know your price and postage and I will pay you for them.

Post Reply