Which SGI machine do you have plugged in and ready to go?

For general discussion not fitting into other categories.
JacquesT
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:06 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Which SGI machine do you have plugged in and ready to go?

Post by JacquesT » Tue May 29, 2018 3:20 am

LarBob wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 8:03 pm
jirka wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 4:12 pm
(I'm using it to write this post)..
What browser are you using?

---

I have my Octane plugged in and sitting near the right side of my desk and have been working on getting a more updated version of Wesnoth working on IRIX.
Yes I'd love to know! :)

My machines are currently unplugged, the Octane uses ~25W just plugged in, not even powered on. I don't like turning the power on and off as it can't be good for the psu. I'm no fanatical tree hugger but don't like wasting electricity.

My O2 is next to the Octane but doesn't see much use as it's a bit slow and not conducive to a pleasant desktop experience, but I'd love to pick up a spare R10k chassis and motherboard for cheap. I may actually use it then as a desktop machine.
:Octane: 1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30
:O2: 300Mhz R5200, 384Mb, 6.5.30, FPA with :1600SW: [300Mhz R12k project in the works]

User avatar
LarBob
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: Which SGI machine do you have plugged in and ready to go?

Post by LarBob » Tue May 29, 2018 4:01 am

JacquesT wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 3:20 am
My machines are currently unplugged, the Octane uses ~25W just plugged in, not even powered on. I don't like turning the power on and off as it can't be good for the psu. I'm no fanatical tree hugger but don't like wasting electricity.

My O2 is next to the Octane but doesn't see much use as it's a bit slow and not conducive to a pleasant desktop experience, but I'd love to pick up a spare R10k chassis and motherboard for cheap. I may actually use it then as a desktop machine.
My Octane has an issue where if I try to turn it on after it has been unplugged it'll kernel fault, so for the past few days I've just left it plugged in. I probably should just start unplugging it again though.
:Octane: Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30f
:O2: Kiki - O2 - R5k 180 MHz - 192 MB RAM - Currently dead
:O3x0-2: Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30m
:O3x0-2: Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30m - on loan from Raion
Mirrors

JacquesT
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:06 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Which SGI machine do you have plugged in and ready to go?

Post by JacquesT » Tue May 29, 2018 4:36 am

LarBob wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 4:01 am
JacquesT wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 3:20 am
My machines are currently unplugged, the Octane uses ~25W just plugged in, not even powered on. I don't like turning the power on and off as it can't be good for the psu. I'm no fanatical tree hugger but don't like wasting electricity.

My O2 is next to the Octane but doesn't see much use as it's a bit slow and not conducive to a pleasant desktop experience, but I'd love to pick up a spare R10k chassis and motherboard for cheap. I may actually use it then as a desktop machine.
My Octane has an issue where if I try to turn it on after it has been unplugged it'll kernel fault, so for the past few days I've just left it plugged in. I probably should just start unplugging it again though.
Sounds like your machine has some caps issues? Have you checked the frontplane for any issues?
:Octane: 1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30
:O2: 300Mhz R5200, 384Mb, 6.5.30, FPA with :1600SW: [300Mhz R12k project in the works]

User avatar
Trippynet
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:46 pm
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: Which SGI machine do you have plugged in and ready to go?

Post by Trippynet » Tue May 29, 2018 5:20 am

LarBob wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 4:01 am
My Octane has an issue where if I try to turn it on after it has been unplugged it'll kernel fault, so for the past few days I've just left it plugged in. I probably should just start unplugging it again though.
For a long time my Indigo2 had the opposite issue. If I performed a soft shutdown but didn't kill the power completely, it wouldn't POST when powering back up...
:Indigo2_IMP: R10000 195MHz, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT, 36GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuelb: R14000 600MHz, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
:O2: in storage...

User avatar
jirka
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:34 pm
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Which SGI machine do you have plugged in and ready to go?

Post by jirka » Tue May 29, 2018 11:31 am

LarBob wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 8:03 pm
What browser are you using?
The Firefox3 for things like this forum and the Links 2 for most other sites. It's not perfect, of course. I don't use my O2 for sensitive WWW stuff like online payments.
I am probably posting from moose, SGI O2 with R10k/250, 1GB RAM, and running IRIX 6.5.27
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo2_IMP: :Octane:

JacquesT
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:06 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Which SGI machine do you have plugged in and ready to go?

Post by JacquesT » Tue May 29, 2018 3:02 pm

jirka wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 11:31 am
LarBob wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 8:03 pm
What browser are you using?
The Firefox3 for things like this forum and the Links 2 for most other sites. It's not perfect, of course. I don't use my O2 for sensitive WWW stuff like online payments.
Thanks J, could you elaborate how you get Links 2 to run on Irix?
:Octane: 1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30
:O2: 300Mhz R5200, 384Mb, 6.5.30, FPA with :1600SW: [300Mhz R12k project in the works]

User avatar
jirka
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:34 pm
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Which SGI machine do you have plugged in and ready to go?

Post by jirka » Tue May 29, 2018 4:45 pm

JacquesT wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 3:02 pm
Thanks J, could you elaborate how you get Links 2 to run on Irix?
There was Nekoware package of the Links 2.
I am probably posting from moose, SGI O2 with R10k/250, 1GB RAM, and running IRIX 6.5.27
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo2_IMP: :Octane:

Post Reply