Is the Logitech TrackMan Marble FX Mouse SGI compatibile?

For general discussion not fitting into other categories.
Post Reply
User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Is the Logitech TrackMan Marble FX Mouse SGI compatibile?

Post by Irinikus » Sat Jun 16, 2018 5:18 pm

Is the Logitech TrackMan Marble FX Mouse compatible with SGI machines?

s-l1600-62.jpg

I would like to interface one of these with my Tezro in the future, but apparently it has programmable buttons and therefore needs a driver to be installed.

The question is whether it will function properly as a "normal" mouse when interfaced with a Tezro, as I doubt there's an IRIX driver for this device?
Image

User avatar
mangoduck
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:56 pm

Re: Is the Logitech TrackMan Marble FX Mouse SGI compatibile?

Post by mangoduck » Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:29 pm

I'm sure that's more to your ergonomic taste, but you may want to look at Silicon Graphics SGI Proprietary MOUSE-TRAK Professional Trackball. 2 available. I'd guess that it's old enough that it probably uses the not-actually-ps2 interface.
sgitrackball.jpg
:Indigo: :Octane: :Octane:

User avatar
CB_HK
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 2:03 am

Re: Is the Logitech TrackMan Marble FX Mouse SGI compatibile?

Post by CB_HK » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:38 pm

This is definitely just my opinion based on previous experience with PS/2 mice but I would think that working as just a mouse—not dealing with the programmable buttons—the TrackMan would likely work. Again, just my thoughts and I can’t say that I’ve tried it personally, but it’s worth a shot to see! I’d honestly be curious as to the answer.
:Indigo2: R10K | Solid IMPACT
:Indigo: R3K | Entry Graphics (LG2)
:Crimson: R4K | Elan Graphics

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: Is the Logitech TrackMan Marble FX Mouse SGI compatibile?

Post by Irinikus » Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:19 am

I will have to buy one of these things and see for myself then, but it is a risk, as they aren't cheap, and it would be a real shame if it didn't work.

One of these devices would also prove to be useful when troubleshooting SGI systems, as I always seem to find the normal ball mouse to be inhibiting and rather irritating to use, when working on a system that isn't properly setup at a desk, as they need a proper surface to operate properly.
Image

HAL
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 2:48 pm

Re: Is the Logitech TrackMan Marble FX Mouse SGI compatibile?

Post by HAL » Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:21 pm

I have a TrackMan Marble FX which I bought from Hakimoto last year.
If I find some time in the weekend I will test if it works on an Octane2 under Irix 6.5.30

User avatar
vishnu
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:05 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA

Re: Is the Logitech TrackMan Marble FX Mouse SGI compatibile?

Post by vishnu » Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:00 am

I think I might still have one of those stashed in my bench at work (the Logitech one not the SGI one), I could never get used to it having been a three button mouse guy since X first made it out of the MIT sweatshop where it took birth. But I'm sure you could use the Linux driver and get it working with an SGI without too much trouble. If fact now I've piqued my own curiosity, I might actually have to give it a try this weekend...
Project: Temporarily lost at sea
Plan: World domination! Or something...

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:10 pm
Location: Between Cape Town and Pretoria South Africa

Re: Is the Logitech TrackMan Marble FX Mouse SGI compatibile?

Post by Irinikus » Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:01 am

It will be great to see the results of your testing!
Image

Post Reply