Shiny new Octane 2

For general discussion not fitting into other categories.
Post Reply
User avatar
praetor
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:21 am

Shiny new Octane 2

Post by praetor » Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:01 pm

I acquired a shiny Octane 2 from Raion-Fox and wanted to show it off :3

Code: Select all

1 400 MHZ IP30 Processor
CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.5
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 512 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0
  Tape drive: unit 3 on SCSI controller 0: DAT
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V6
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1

And a beautiful bench of blue <3

Image

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:09 pm

Re: Shiny new Octane 2

Post by Intuition » Wed Dec 20, 2017 10:19 am

Nice collection. Just like mine with Octane 1. :)

I am finally ordering the adapter so i can fire up my Octane today. But I can't find one Amazon store that will let me ship it overnight. :/

--edit-- Just went to monoprice (company Amazon was using anyways) and got same item for two dollars less AND had overnight shipping.

Ah middle man... adding unnecessary complication.

User avatar
praetor
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:21 am

Re: Shiny new Octane 2

Post by praetor » Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:11 pm

Yeah. I got mine from mono price. It works pretty good.

User avatar
vishnu
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:05 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA

Re: Shiny new Octane 2

Post by vishnu » Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:52 pm

I've been using my Octane with a Sun X7136A monitor (which retailed new for 1100.00 US dollars! IIRC I think I paid $400 for it) ever since I got it 10 years ago, it's been great but the electron gun is starting to wear out now, the picture is getting blurry. :cry:
Project: Temporarily lost at sea
Plan: World domination! Or something...

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Founder
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:23 am
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Re: Shiny new Octane 2

Post by Raion-Fox » Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:18 am

I have a Dell 1280x1024 monitor I use for my Octane and eventually the Indigo2 IMPACT R10k I have, as well as the Indys. Once I get an adapter, the Tezro and Octane2 will go onto either my ASUS 2k monitor OR my HP 1680x1050 monitor. I also have a 1366x768 I may use somewhere in the mix sometime soon. Remains to be seen.
I'm the manager

Besides irix.cc, I run these sites:

projectkitsune.com

kazuo.io

User avatar
vishnu
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:05 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA

Re: Shiny new Octane 2

Post by vishnu » Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:09 pm

I have a Dell U2412m UltraSharp that I use on my main workstation (Slackware 14.2 - kernel 14.3.0), I like it a lot, it's not their "highest end" monitor but it's good enough that I really can't tell the difference. Definitely need to get a new monitor for my Octane, the Sun I've been using it with is a thing of beauty but it's getting worn out. :cry:
Project: Temporarily lost at sea
Plan: World domination! Or something...

User avatar
Trippynet
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:46 pm
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: Shiny new Octane 2

Post by Trippynet » Sat Dec 23, 2017 1:04 pm

Ooh, a 1366x768 monitor - probably one of my most hated resolutions of all time, due to having to spend time working on such awful resolutions with my work laptops from time to time. Of course, IRIX may be a bit better than Windows for such a res, but then again I hate 16:9 screens as a rule of thumb.

My "SGI screen" is a 20" Dell I acquired from work which supports SoG. 1600x1200 resolution, it runs at native res for my Fuel, and 1280x1024 for my Indigo2. It's driven by a KVM so I can also use it as an extra screen when I work from home, which is most days now (ditching the laptop screens and running three monitors - two 1600x1200 screens and my main 1920x1200 screen in the middle kicks ass!)

Back on topic, it's a nice Octane! Just needs a front door now :)
:Indigo2_IMP: R10000 195MHz, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT, 36GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuelb: R14000 600MHz, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
:O2: in storage...

JacquesT
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:06 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Shiny new Octane 2

Post by JacquesT » Thu May 24, 2018 3:59 am

Nice Octane, you need to get that front door sorted! :)

On monitors, my Octane and MacPro are connected to a Dell 2407wfp, lovely display for 1920x1200 with lots of inputs. The MacPro is also connected to an HP elitedisplay 1920x1200, this one doesn't play nicely with SOG though.

These days I prefer desktops at >1600x1200, i love my screen real estate.
:Octane: 1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30
:O2: 300Mhz R5200, 384Mb, 6.5.30, FPA with :1600SW: [300Mhz R12k project in the works]

User avatar
praetor
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:21 am

Re: Shiny new Octane 2

Post by praetor » Thu May 24, 2018 9:49 am

Yeah. The Octane is connected to a Dell monitor (I forget the model atm, and I'm not where I can look). But it's taken alot of tweaking to get it to work right as my Octane has a V6, which has that pixel clock bug. It works-ish. Except it will flicker every so often, which is annoying. It's a 1400x900 monitor. At some point I want to get something that works a little bit better.

Post Reply