Shiny new Octane 2
#1
Shiny new Octane 2
I acquired a shiny Octane 2 from Raion-Fox and wanted to show it off :3

Code:
<i>
</i>1 400 MHZ IP30 Processor
CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.5
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 512 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0
  Tape drive: unit 3 on SCSI controller 0: DAT
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V6
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1


And a beautiful bench of blue <3

[img]https://i.imgur.com/IE10sNK.jpg[/img]
praetor
O2

Posts: 31
Threads: 4
Joined: Nov 2017
Find Reply
12-13-2017, 07:01 PM
#2
Re: Shiny new Octane 2
Nice collection. Just like mine with Octane 1. Smile

I am finally ordering the adapter so i can fire up my Octane today. But I can't find one Amazon store that will let me ship it overnight. :/

--edit-- Just went to monoprice (company Amazon was using anyways) and got same item for two dollars less AND had overnight shipping.

Ah middle man... adding unnecessary complication.

Octane 2x400O2 300O2 400Origin 200 2x250
Intuition
Octane

Posts: 99
Threads: 13
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
12-20-2017, 03:19 PM
#3
Re: Shiny new Octane 2
Yeah. I got mine from mono price. It works pretty good.
praetor
O2

Posts: 31
Threads: 4
Joined: Nov 2017
Find Reply
12-20-2017, 09:11 PM
#4
Re: Shiny new Octane 2
I've been using my Octane with a Sun X7136A monitor (which retailed new for 1100.00 US dollars! IIRC I think I paid $400 for it) ever since I got it 10 years ago, it's been great but the electron gun is starting to wear out now, the picture is getting blurry. Cry

Project: Temporarily lost at sea

Plan: World domination! Or something...
vishnu
Octane

Posts: 59
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
12-21-2017, 04:52 AM
#5
Re: Shiny new Octane 2
I have a Dell 1280x1024 monitor I use for my Octane and eventually the Indigo2 IMPACT R10k I have, as well as the Indys. Once I get an adapter, the Tezro and Octane2 will go onto either my ASUS 2k monitor OR my HP 1680x1050 monitor. I also have a 1366x768 I may use somewhere in the mix sometime soon. Remains to be seen.

I'm the manager
Besides IRIX Network, I run these sites:
projectkitsune.com

Tezro
Octane2
Indigo2 IMPACT
Indigo2
3x O2
3x Indy

Raion
Operator
*******

Posts: 353
Threads: 68
Joined: Nov 2017
Website Find Reply
12-21-2017, 05:18 AM
#6
Re: Shiny new Octane 2
I have a Dell U2412m UltraSharp that I use on my main workstation (Slackware 14.2 - kernel 14.3.0), I like it a lot, it's not their "highest end" monitor but it's good enough that I really can't tell the difference. Definitely need to get a new monitor for my Octane, the Sun I've been using it with is a thing of beauty but it's getting worn out. Cry

Project: Temporarily lost at sea

Plan: World domination! Or something...
vishnu
Octane

Posts: 59
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
12-22-2017, 05:09 PM
#7
Re: Shiny new Octane 2
Ooh, a 1366x768 monitor - probably one of my most hated resolutions of all time, due to having to spend time working on such awful resolutions with my work laptops from time to time. Of course, IRIX may be a bit better than Windows for such a res, but then again I hate 16:9 screens as a rule of thumb.

My "SGI screen" is a 20" Dell I acquired from work which supports SoG. 1600x1200 resolution, it runs at native res for my Fuel, and 1280x1024 for my Indigo2. It's driven by a KVM so I can also use it as an extra screen when I work from home, which is most days now (ditching the laptop screens and running three monitors - two 1600x1200 screens and my main 1920x1200 screen in the middle kicks ass!)

Back on topic, it's a nice Octane! Just needs a front door now Smile

 Indigo2 IMPACT R10000 195MHz, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT, 36GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
Fuel R14000 600MHz, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
O2 in storage...
Trippynet
Indigo2 IMPACT

Posts: 89
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
12-23-2017, 06:04 PM
#8
Re: Shiny new Octane 2
Nice Octane, you need to get that front door sorted! Smile

On monitors, my Octane and MacPro are connected to a Dell 2407wfp, lovely display for 1920x1200 with lots of inputs. The MacPro is also connected to an HP elitedisplay 1920x1200, this one doesn't play nicely with SOG though.

These days I prefer desktops at >1600x1200, i love my screen real estate.

Octane  1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30m

O2 300Mhz R12K (R10K upgrade mod),  384Mb, 6.5.30m, FPA  with  1600SW (Original R5K chassis, mobo and cpu in storage)
JacquesT
Tezro

Posts: 255
Threads: 31
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
05-24-2018, 07:59 AM
#9
Re: Shiny new Octane 2
Yeah. The Octane is connected to a Dell monitor (I forget the model atm, and I'm not where I can look). But it's taken alot of tweaking to get it to work right as my Octane has a V6, which has that pixel clock bug. It works-ish. Except it will flicker every so often, which is annoying. It's a 1400x900 monitor. At some point I want to get something that works a little bit better.
praetor
O2

Posts: 31
Threads: 4
Joined: Nov 2017
Find Reply
05-24-2018, 01:49 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)