Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
What's your current home or office setup?
#11
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
I can't really take a decent picture of my whole office, needless to say, it's not the most tidy place in the world. So thought I'd just throw up a few pics..
[ATTACHMENT NOT FOUND]

This is my rack of video format players/editors that somehow I have managed to link all together. I have just purchased a BetaCam Digital player to go along with it, alas no space, in fact no space for a load of other players I have also.

[ATTACHMENT NOT FOUND]

Output to a Sanyo Broadcast monitor.

[ATTACHMENT NOT FOUND]

I don't have a real ADAT solution yet, so the image here is coming from a PS/3 with HDMi Audio spliter, that then goes to input of the Octane on the left. This then sends ADAT to the flame Tezro on the right. Works, but I suspect there must be some sync issue along the way. I will address the adat soon.

   

All a bit tight at the moment, but this will all change.
Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix Offline
Octane

Posts: 198
Threads: 26
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
06-02-2018, 09:38 PM
#12
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
My environment is not exciting as you can see. The right part of the picture (the iMac G5) a is on my wife's desk.

Only part of machines is connected (the O2, on of Indys, the gray Indigo and the IBM 285; and the Thinkpad x61s which is located behind the left LCD).


Attached Files Image(s)
   
I am probably posting from moose, SGI O2 with R10k/250, 1GB RAM,  and running IRIX 6.5.27

O2  O2  1600SW  1600SW  Indy  Indy  Indigo  Indigo  Indigo2 IMPACT  Octane
jirka Offline
O2

Posts: 21
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
06-10-2018, 01:51 PM
#13
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
I think it's a very nice setup you have there!!!
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus Offline
Tezro

Posts: 503
Threads: 65
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
06-10-2018, 01:59 PM
#14
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
I like it Jirka, a real working desk. Love your coffee / tea mug as well!
Octane  1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30m

O2 300Mhz R12K (R10K upgrade mod),  384Mb, 6.5.30m, FPA  with  1600SW (Original R5K chassis, mobo and cpu in storage)
JacquesT Offline
Octane

Posts: 206
Threads: 26
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
06-14-2018, 09:40 PM
#15
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
Here's my primary setup. An Indigo2 with an R10K @ 195, 512MB of RAM, Solid IMPACT card, DVD drive, Phobos Ethernet card, and a 73GB 15K hard disk.

[img]http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s152/...fm4tox.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s152/...cqnqqd.jpg[/img]

IRIS Crimson  R4K | Elan Graphics   Indigo R3K | Entry Graphics (LG2)   Indigo2  R10K | Solid IMPACT
CB_HK Offline
Octane

Posts: 61
Threads: 10
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
06-28-2018, 10:53 PM
#16
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
Beautiful pics! Especially the first one, something about the lighting makes it look almost like a professional product shot. An Indigo2 on footstands is the coolest looking workstation SGI ever produced IMHO. Wish they made PC cases that looked like that today.

As for my own "setup," I'm still not entirely settled in North Carolina and have been delaying buying furniture, so I do all my computing on the floor. My computer collection is still in New York sitting in storage.

   
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+
Silicon Classics Offline
Core Contributor

Posts: 29
Threads: 4
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
06-29-2018, 12:14 PM
#17
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
Silicon Classics post_id=1269 time=1530274464 user_id=66 Wrote:As for my own "setup," I'm still not entirely settled in North Carolina and have been delaying buying furniture, so I do all my computing on the floor. My computer collection is still in New York sitting in storage.
Isn't that the xw8400 you bought sometime earlier this year (IIRC)? Great to see such an "old battleship" still in daily use. What configuration do you use for your current computing? I have a similar looking but AMD Opteron based xw9400 and it's still used for a lot of tasks (incl. gaming :-D).
Indigo Indy Indigo2 IMPACT O2 Octane Octane2 Origin 200 = Origin 200 - Origin 200 = Origin 200

johnnym Offline
O2

Posts: 37
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
07-02-2018, 11:47 AM
#18
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
Yes, that's the one. I've got it setup as a Linux Lite box with a couple of VirtualBox Windows VMs to run my trusty old applications. It's got a pair of quad-core 3GHz Xeon chips, 32GB ECC RAM, and a 512GB SSD. Video card is an old Quadro FX 5600 but that's fine as I don't game.
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+
Silicon Classics Offline
Core Contributor

Posts: 29
Threads: 4
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
07-02-2018, 07:10 PM
#19
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
Silicon Classics post_id=1318 time=1530558634 user_id=66 Wrote:Yes, that's the one. I've got it setup as a Linux Lite box with a couple of VirtualBox Windows VMs to run my trusty old applications. It's got a pair of quad-core 3GHz Xeon chips, 32GB ECC RAM, and a 512GB SSD. Video card is an old Quadro FX 5600 but that's fine as I don't game.
Nice! I posted my xw9400 configuration on Nekochan already sometime ago. I love that these workstations offer both PCIe and PCI/X slots as it allows me to also use "older" expansion cards instead of rebuying everything as PCIe card. More than enough computing power for today me thinks. :-)

Linux Lite - never heard of, but looks interesting and I still have to convert a few Windows users... ;-)
Indigo Indy Indigo2 IMPACT O2 Octane Octane2 Origin 200 = Origin 200 - Origin 200 = Origin 200

johnnym Offline
O2

Posts: 37
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
07-02-2018, 07:32 PM
#20
Re: What's your current home or office setup?
johnnym post_id=1319 time=1530559936 user_id=209 Wrote:I love that these workstations offer both PCIe and PCI/X slots as it allows me to also use "older" expansion cards instead of rebuying everything as PCIe card. More than enough computing power for today me thinks. :-)

Yup, that and the onboard parallel / serial ports and optional floppy drive make these tanks very versatile for retro hardware. To have a dual CPU Xeon box that can handle 32GB of RAM yet still have onboard FDD and IDE controllers is really convenient. If only Linux didn't screw up every time I actually try to access a floppy disk.

johnnym post_id=1319 time=1530559936 user_id=209 Wrote:Linux Lite - never heard of, but looks interesting and I still have to convert a few Windows users... ;-)

That's what it's designed for, easy transition for Windows XP/7 users. It has some very nice built-in management tools and is easy on systems resources. That said I'm considering switching to CentOS for various reasons.
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+
Silicon Classics Offline
Core Contributor

Posts: 29
Threads: 4
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
07-02-2018, 09:14 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)