Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Octane PROM upgrade
#1
Octane PROM upgrade
I'm not sure on how to upgrade the PROM on my Octanes

I have found the following to upgrade the O2 so I think it will be similar

/sbin/flashinst -T -y /usr/cpu/firmware/ip32prom.image

however, when I look in that directory I find /usr/cpu/firmware/ip30prom.bin

Should I run
/sbin/flashinst -T -y /usr/cpu/firmware/ip30prom.bin 

from my 6.5.30 installed system or do I need to locate an ip30prom.image somewhere on my 6.5.30 cd's?
[Image: Octaneb.png] Dual 195MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache per processor, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/2MB Secondary Cache, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
[Image: Octane2c.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
Infiltratr Offline
Octane/Octane/Octane

Posts: 25
Threads: 10
Joined: Sep 2018
Find Reply
10-11-2018, 12:49 PM
#2
RE: Octane PROM upgrade
First of all, normally the PROM is upgraded autmatically during the IRIX installation.

If you want to do this manually (example: you replace the mainboard for one with older firmware and you don't want to reinstall), the program you're looking for is 'flash' and it has a manpage which describes how to use it.
jan-jaap Offline
SGI Collector

Posts: 141
Threads: 4
Joined: Jun 2018
Website Find Reply
10-12-2018, 12:33 PM
#3
RE: Octane PROM upgrade
Make use of the following command line: "flash -a usr/cpu/firmware/ip35prom.img" (It worked on my Tezro.)
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus Offline
Tezro

Posts: 487
Threads: 63
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
10-12-2018, 04:45 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)