Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Trouble with Medea Videoraid RTS
#1
Trouble with Medea Videoraid RTS
My Medea Videoraid RTS arrived and I have been trying to get this working with my Octane.  The Medea raid uses LVD (VHD68 pin) connector.  So im using an HD68 to VHD68 cable and the terminator that came with the raid.  

The problem is when I start the system (Raid started first), on boot up i get aseries of messages;

timeout on adapter 1 target 6
tm0=0xed2a26521, tm1 0xed ect ect

Timeout on adapter 1 target 7
.... ...

timeout on adapter 1 taget 8

and so on and so on

It seems to just repeat these timeouts.

Is the octane not compatible with the UW320 VHD68 drives?
Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames Offline
Octane

Posts: 171
Threads: 42
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
10-03-2018, 10:13 PM
#2
RE: Trouble with Medea Videoraid RTS
I’m now wondering if the external scsi port on the octane is not compatible with a ultra 160 raid device.

Both Medéa RTS drives start up and the front indicator lights are both solid green which according to the manual means there is no issues with the health of the drives... so that’s good news.

Could it be the octane external UW scsi port not cooperating with the Ultra160 drives.

I have a potential order in for the PCI cage and dual Ultra160 pci card, but want to have some confidence I’m not throwing away money on 2 potentially dead units.
Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames Offline
Octane

Posts: 171
Threads: 42
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
10-04-2018, 12:16 AM
#3
RE: Trouble with Medea Videoraid RTS
I'm not familiar with your RAID, but there's one thing you have to realize: IRIX only supports 32bit sector numbers. With a sector size of 512bytes this means an upper limit of 2TB per LUN. There is e.g. no support for disks larger than 2TB in IRIX. It is possible to use XLV or XVM to create a logical volume larger than 2TB from multiple LUNs (disks) and format that as a single XFS filesystem.

If your RAID allows you to assemble volumes larger than 2TB it's using 64bit sector numbers and it will not work with IRIX. This has come up in the past on Nekochan, especially with those units that take SATA disks.

If your RAID can have a total capacity larger than 2TB but a single LUN is limited to 2TB , it should work. My IBM DS4300 SAN server is in this category.

To add to the confusion, some RAID units will switch to the large LUN format only with volumes larger than 2TB, so they work for some users but not others.
jan-jaap Offline
SGI Collector

Posts: 144
Threads: 4
Joined: Jun 2018
Website Find Reply
10-04-2018, 07:12 AM
#4
RE: Trouble with Medea Videoraid RTS
Both raid arrays are 320gig each.

I’m thinking my problem is I need an actual UW160 scsi adaptor as the Medéa documentation says the drives require a compatible UW160 adapter even for windows.

I’m putting in an order for the PCI uw160 adaptor anyways.
Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames Offline
Octane

Posts: 171
Threads: 42
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
10-06-2018, 02:17 AM
#5
RE: Trouble with Medea Videoraid RTS
(10-06-2018, 02:17 AM)bjames Wrote: Both raid arrays are 320gig each.  

I’m thinking my problem is I need an actual UW160 scsi adaptor as the Medéa documentation says the drives require a compatible UW160 adapter even for windows.

I’m putting in an order for the PCI uw160 adaptor anyways.

I don't know about that, mine is running fine, even though not the fastest?

I wonder if we have the same machine though, mine maybe a lot older.

Have you serial'd into the box to see what is going on?
57600 8 n 1
Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix Offline
Octane

Posts: 196
Threads: 26
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
10-06-2018, 08:49 AM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)