Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Irix Iso's???
#1
Irix Iso's???
I have found a site that seems to hold a bunch of IRIX CD's - stored in ISO format.

https://archive.org/details/cdromsoftware?and%5B%5D=irix&sin=

Are they useless because they are in iso format or can they be mounted and used???
[Image: Octaneb.png] Dual 195MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache per processor, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/2MB Secondary Cache, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
[Image: Octane2c.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
Infiltratr Offline
Octane/Octane/Octane

Posts: 25
Threads: 10
Joined: Sep 2018
Find Reply
09-30-2018, 09:43 AM
#2
RE: Irix Iso's???
ISOs can be mounted with Linux.
niwe Offline
Banned

Posts: 35
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-30-2018, 10:42 AM
#3
RE: Irix Iso's???
Why not burn them to CD-Rs and use them? Old school Smile
bjornl Offline
Indigo

Posts: 12
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-30-2018, 07:44 PM
#4
RE: Irix Iso's???
We use tarballs on the ftp because EFS ISOs are difficult to burn
I'm the manager
Besides irix.cc, I run these sites:
projectkitsune.com
kazuo.io

Tezro
Octane2
Indigo2 IMPACT
Indigo2
3x O2
3x Indy

Raion Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 270
Threads: 46
Joined: Nov 2017
Discord: Umbra#0893
Website Find Reply
09-30-2018, 08:59 PM
#5
RE: Irix Iso's???
Handy tip: if you have a raw image file of an SGI EFS CD (so it's not actually an ISO), one can burn it on a Windows PC using ImgBurn simply by renaming the suffix to .iso, works fine. Only difference you'll notice is ImgBurn takes sligthtly longer to become "ready" when selecting the file.

Actual ISO dumps of EFS boot CDs are bad though, as they won't include the volume header.

Btw, I have about thirty original IRIX CD packs to sell off, but I'm unable to list them atm. Hopefully I'll be able to do that later in the year, though of course they're not as good or complete as my custom CDR set.

Ian.
mapesdhs Offline
O2

Posts: 17
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-30-2018, 10:27 PM
#6
RE: Irix Iso's???
CD-raw-dumps include everything is in the media.
niwe Offline
Banned

Posts: 35
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-30-2018, 11:04 PM
#7
RE: Irix Iso's???
If you’re using a Mac, it’s very easy to burn ISO’s.(No additional burning software is required.)
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
(This post was last modified: 10-01-2018, 05:36 AM by Irinikus.)
Irinikus Offline
Tezro

Posts: 493
Threads: 64
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
10-01-2018, 05:35 AM
#8
RE: Irix Iso's???
(09-30-2018, 08:59 PM)Raion Wrote: We use tarballs on the ftp because EFS ISOs are difficult to burn

Difficult to read on a Windows PC maybe, but burning is straightforward. Nero (Windows), CDburner XP (Windows, free), Disk Utility (macOS, builtin) or whatever you get with Linux all do fine.

Personally, I prefer disk images (be it EFS or ISO) over tar files because they are a 1:1 copy of the original. It's too easy for things like file dates, permissions etc to get lost in tar files. There are still people who think it's a good idea to leave files out to save a couple of MBs in the age of cheap TB hard disks. Or they overlook or can't deal with symlinks so a 200MB distribution blows up to a 600MB tar file.
jan-jaap Offline
SGI Collector

Posts: 145
Threads: 4
Joined: Jun 2018
Website Find Reply
10-01-2018, 08:55 AM
#9
RE: Irix Iso's???
My goal really is to just mount these cd's so I can put the files on my network and built by network build environment.

I have a lot (complete 6.22) but I'm missing a lot of 6.30 outside of the discs on our ftp site here.
[Image: Octaneb.png] Dual 195MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache per processor, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/2MB Secondary Cache, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
[Image: Octane2c.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
Infiltratr Offline
Octane/Octane/Octane

Posts: 25
Threads: 10
Joined: Sep 2018
Find Reply
10-04-2018, 03:34 AM
#10
RE: Irix Iso's???
(10-04-2018, 03:34 AM)Infiltratr Wrote: I have a lot (complete 6.22) but I'm missing a lot of 6.30 outside of the discs on our ftp site here.

IIRC, most of the disks are the same for 6.5.x.  It's only the "overlays" disks and maybe the "applications" disk that changed between the IRIX releases.

The other disks in your complete 6.5.22 set were the same from 6.5.0 to 6.5.30.  So you can make a complete 6.5.anything set with the appropriate overlays disks (which are just the patches that upgrade what's on the base/original 6.5.0 disks to the specified release).  E.g. if you want 6.5.30, use the overlays disk images from the FTP site to replace the overlays disks in your complete 6.5.22 set and you've now got a complete 6.5.30 set.

Just remember that the first of the overlays disks is called "Installation Tools & Overlays" for a reason!  You want to boot from that when doing a fresh install of anything later to get proper support for newer hardware during the installation process.

SGI:  Indigo, Indigo2, Octane, Origin 300
Sun:  SPARCstation 20, Ultra 2, Blade 2500, T5240
HP:  9000/380, 425e, C8000
Digital: DECstation 5000/125
jpstewart Offline
O2

Posts: 43
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
10-04-2018, 03:25 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)