Your first SGI encounter?
RE: Your first SGI encounter?
Space to Your Face is either on the Onyx2 demo discs, or in the HighEnd demos from the developer toolbox.
jan-jaap
SGI Collector

Threads: 10
Website Find Reply
01-10-2019, 01:23 PM
(01-10-2019, 01:23 PM)jan-jaap Wrote:  Space to Your Face is either on the Onyx2 demo discs, or in the HighEnd demos from the developer toolbox.
That might be interesting to look at, do you know of any videos of it... got rid of all my Irix stuff unfortunately. Have family now, no time to play! booo...
[EDIT:] Of course there is o.0... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GM_wWz39zKs

The VW was showcased with some impressive aerial imagery, I wonder if this was from the sgi millions spent on fly-bys.

Also to join in on the conversation, my first encounter was in 98 ish Indigo2 running Maya. I was self taught Ligthwave on the Amiga and then Truespace on the PC. Maya was the logical progression and seeing a friend (who worked at the Mill) using Maya, I was like... daum I want one... couldn't afford that though, but then the same year I saw COMDEX '98 (on VHS) and knowing that Maya was being ported to Windows and the release of SGI hardware running Windows... I got myself one of those from a liquidation sale a year or two later. That started my whole love afair with SGI. Somehow I wound up programming CAD instead of CGI which I originally wanted to do ... o.0. I went to an interview at a local-ish CAD company developing bespoke software for the Shoe Industry (not soo much interested in fashion tbh) but when I walked through the door was greeted by SiliconGraphics VAR (Authorised, Value Added Reseller) perspex plaque on the wall, and all of the sudden I got interested in fashion. My first role was fixing a few boogs in the software, shortly after there was move to x86 and so my brief professional experience of working on them consisted mainly of tying up the loose ends from the port to the 'new' platform (had an O2 on my desk to do this, e