Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Your first SGI encounter?
RE: Your first SGI encounter?
My first time I saw an SGI in person, is my current Indy machine. I was working at SBC Long distance in 99. I was a contractor working on the interm billing system. When I left they gifted me the Indy. I haven't run it in 15 years, it sits on top of the case with it's SGI 19 CRT monitor. I have 2 cameras and one extra power supply. I also have some R5K boards. Message me if you want anything.

Robi Akerley-McKee

Facebook messenger is best place to get ahold of me.
Cromaglious Offline
O2

Threads: 0
Find Reply
09-20-2018, 03:50 AM
(09-12-2018, 03:42 AM)bjames Wrote: I was depressed and ended up painting my windows 3.1 desktop computer running 3d studio r2 blue as my personal version on an sgi... yes it was sad.

Snap! I painted my K6 200 box Indigo blue, even the floppy drive cover and flap as well as the CDROM bezel and tray cover! I even paid for 2-pack paint at that time and had the thing sprayed by a restoration expert who did me a favour. I was only like 17 or 18 at the time.

We used to get the SGI Indy adverts in some Unix magazine around that time, some play on words about Rip Van Winkle...
Octane  1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30m

O2 300Mhz R12K (R10K upgrade mod),  384Mb, 6.5.30m, FPA  with  1600SW (Original R5K chassis, mobo and cpu in storage)
JacquesT Offline
Octane

Threads: 23
Find Reply
09-20-2018, 04:44 PM