my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
#1
my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
my sgi o2 when it starts says unable to bootand I do not understand why it does not work if I already install the hard drive
RetroGamer1985
O2

Posts: 24
Threads: 7
Joined: Jul 2018
Find Reply
09-28-2018, 07:00 PM
#2
RE: my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
what's the exact message?

some things that are possible: you put the drive in the wrong slot, you have a PROM setting that's not correct, drive is bad, etc

I suppose it would help if you took a picture
gijoe77
Tezro

Posts: 469
Threads: 28
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-28-2018, 07:07 PM
#3
RE: my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
[attachment=450 Wrote:[attachment=449] [attachment=448] gijoe77 pid='3788' dateline='1538161665']what's the exact message?  

some things that are possible: you put the drive in the wrong slot, you have a PROM setting that's not correct, drive is bad, etc

I suppose it would help if you took a picture

(09-28-2018, 07:07 PM)gijoe77 Wrote:  what's the exact message?  

some things that are possible: you put the drive in the wrong slot, you have a PROM setting that's not correct, drive is bad, etc

I suppose it would help if you took a picture

As I said before I get a window that says:

unable to boot; press any key to continue

when the terminal I write resetenv it tells me:

dks0d4s0: Drive not ready
dks0d4s0: Drive is not ready


Attached Files Image(s)
           
(This post was last modified: 09-28-2018, 07:51 PM by RetroGamer1985.)
RetroGamer1985
O2

Posts: 24
Threads: 7
Joined: Jul 2018
Find Reply
09-28-2018, 07:32 PM
#4
RE: my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
type "hinv" in the terminal, make sure your HDD is being recognized. Is this a R5k or R10k o2? If R5k, the disk should have id 1 (i.e. dks0d1s0)
gijoe77
Tezro

Posts: 469
Threads: 28
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-28-2018, 07:59 PM
#5
RE: my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
(09-28-2018, 07:59 PM)gijoe77 Wrote:  type "hinv" in the terminal, make sure your HDD is being recognized.  Is this a R5k or R10k o2?  If R5k, the disk should have id 1 (i.e. dks0d1s0)

hinv:

system: IP32
Processor: 259 MHz R10000, with FPU
Primary I-cache size: 32 Kbytes
Primary D-cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary cache size: 1024 kbytes
Memory size: 256 Mbyte
Graphics: CRM, Rev C
Audio: A3 versión 1
SCSI CDROM: SCSI(0)cdrom(4)

PROM Monitor (BE)
Tue Oct 22 10:58:00 PDT 2002
VERSION 4.18
O2 R5K/R7K/R10K/R12K
IRIX 6.5.x IP32prom IP32PROM-v4

(09-28-2018, 08:04 PM)RetroGamer1985 Wrote:  
(09-28-2018, 07:59 PM)gijoe77 Wrote:  type "hinv" in the terminal, make sure your HDD is being recognized.  Is this a R5k or R10k o2?  If R5k, the disk should have id 1 (i.e. dks0d1s0)

hinv:

system: IP32
Processor: 259 MHz R10000, with FPU
Primary I-cache size: 32 Kbytes
Primary D-cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary cache size: 1024 kbytes
Memory size: 256 Mbyte
Graphics: CRM, Rev C
Audio: A3 versión 1
SCSI CDROM: SCSI(0)cdrom(4)

PROM Monitor (BE)
Tue Oct 22 10:58:00 PDT 2002
VERSION 4.18
O2 R5K/R7K/R10K/R12K
IRIX 6.5.x IP32prom IP32PROM-v4


Attached Files Image(s)
   
(This post was last modified: 09-28-2018, 08:14 PM by RetroGamer1985.)
RetroGamer1985
O2

Posts: 24
Threads: 7
Joined: Jul 2018
Find Reply
09-28-2018, 08:04 PM
#6
RE: my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
Here's the hinv from my O2, it shows the system disk as well as the CD-ROM. It appears that your system isn't picking up the system disk.

Your system disk should be unit 2 on controller 0. (Mine is anyway.)

[Image: TWsO7B9.jpg?2]

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
(This post was last modified: 09-28-2018, 09:44 PM by Irinikus.)
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 564
Threads: 78
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
09-28-2018, 09:42 PM
#7
RE: my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
your problem is only your CDROM is seen, your HDD is not being seen. You can try to power off the machine and try to reseat the disk drive, but you should see something like

SCSI DISK SCSI(0)disk(2)
gijoe77
Tezro

Posts: 469
Threads: 28
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-28-2018, 09:43 PM
#8
RE: my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
Indeed, the hard disk is not appearing in the prom hinv.

As a point, the hinv that is produced with Irix running is not always comparable to the prom hinv as the prom hinv lacks drivers. The prom hinv is a minimum.

In this case though the disk should be visible.

The ID on the o2 and many SGI is 4 by general default. If you had bad termination or a conflict on your SCSI system, I would doubt the CDROM would appear, so it appears the disk is not working as it should. I would as gijoe states, pull the drive out and blow out any cobwebs and ensure it is fitted nice and snug.

It should recognise the drive regardless of is there is a valid IRIX partition on it.

Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix
Octane

Posts: 211
Threads: 27
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
09-28-2018, 10:14 PM
#9
RE: my sgi o2 does not want to go to the desktop
Aye, as I've just upgraded my R5k (2 drives) to an R10k/r12k (1 drive) my scsi disk Id had to change as well. I suspect either your drive is dead, as in dead controller, or it's not seated properly.

Octane  1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30m

O2 300Mhz R12K (R10K upgrade mod),  384Mb, 6.5.30m, FPA  with  1600SW (Original R5K chassis, mobo and cpu in storage)
JacquesT
Tezro

Posts: 256
Threads: 31
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-29-2018, 06:49 AM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)