How to reinstall irix without loosing apps
#1
How to reinstall irix without loosing apps
Never had to do this before, but what is the best method of re-installing irix and overlays without having to reinstall the applications i.e. SI3D, Maya, and other big apps.

I will be installing from the CDs

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-24-2018, 05:14 PM
#2
RE: How to reinstall irix without loosing apps
not sure there is a simple way - I would backup/restore homedir's, /usr/Softimage, /usr/aw and /usr/local . I'm willing to bet there is some other dir that is worth backing up but It's not clear to me at the moment.

but there are other tweaks those software might have done to other things (toolchest, icon catalog, whatever the process is to setup icons, etc)

I've always sort of was under the impression if I do a re-install from CD's, I'm reinstalling everything.
gijoe77
Tezro

Posts: 469
Threads: 28
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-24-2018, 06:10 PM
#3
RE: How to reinstall irix without loosing apps
For a start off, do not mkfs when doing the new install. As for the rest, I'd go with gijoe.

Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix
Octane

Posts: 211
Threads: 27
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
09-24-2018, 06:35 PM
#4
RE: How to reinstall irix without loosing apps
For sure... making new file system is out of the question. I was wondering if reinstalling irix from Inst would just update the OS files like how windows will just refress the OS related files and not affect installed apps. I have a feeling reinstalling Irix may rewrite /etc, /usr, /var etc folders and loose some files.

What I’m might do instead is reinstall Irix completely on my backup drive and test this out.

I have a spare hard drive with an earlier version of irix that I use when installing apps or messing around. If the installing of an application is successful on my ‘test’ drive, I will swap out system drives and install on the good drive.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-26-2018, 04:23 AM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)