Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Real Time Clock
#1
Real Time Clock
Do Octanes have a real-time clock/battery on the mainboards themselves?  

Mine does not seem to be keeping the date and time when I turn it off but I can't see a battery there to try and replace?
[Image: Octaneb.png] Dual 195MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache per processor, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/2MB Secondary Cache, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
[Image: Octane2c.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
Infiltratr Offline
Octane/Octane/Octane

Posts: 25
Threads: 10
Joined: Sep 2018
Find Reply
09-21-2018, 05:07 AM
#2
RE: Real Time Clock
There is RTC with builtin battery. See the image (in the bottom on right hand side there is IC with alarm clock picture on it). It is RTC with builtin battery.
[Image: octane_motherboard_front.jpg]
Probably You have to replace whole RTC (they are still available) or hack it and connect external battery to internal contacts.
OnyxR
mosiniak Offline
Onyx

Posts: 33
Threads: 8
Joined: Aug 2018
Discord: mosiniak#8552
Find Reply
09-22-2018, 12:09 AM
#3
RE: Real Time Clock
I thought the battery hack to the Dallas chip was only relevant on older sgi,s like the Indy. The octane has a battery on the front plane that also stores the system identification. So the octane doesn’t suffer from the memory loss if the Dallas chip runs out of power which = an easy recovery. Please correct me if I’m wrong.
Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
(This post was last modified: 09-22-2018, 03:52 AM by bjames.)
bjames Offline
Octane

Posts: 171
Threads: 42
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-22-2018, 03:51 AM
#4
RE: Real Time Clock
(09-21-2018, 05:07 AM)Infiltratr Wrote: Mine does not seem to be keeping the date and time when I turn it off

I focused myself on RTC. If there is second battery - I don't know.
OnyxR
mosiniak Offline
Onyx

Posts: 33
Threads: 8
Joined: Aug 2018
Discord: mosiniak#8552
Find Reply
09-22-2018, 08:57 AM
#5
RE: Real Time Clock
(09-22-2018, 03:51 AM)bjames Wrote: I thought the battery hack to the Dallas chip was only relevant on older sgi,s like the Indy.  The octane has a battery on the front plane that also stores the system identification.  So the octane doesn’t suffer from the memory loss if the Dallas chip runs out of power which = an easy recovery.  Please correct me if I’m wrong.

Yeah you're wrong.

The battery on the front plane that also stores the system identification *only* stores the system ID and isn't a battery at all. It's a 1-wire iButton device

The difference with an Indy is that the Indy stores the system ID in the Dallas so when it runs out, the MAC address is random and the network doesn't initialize.

It's still probably a good idea to replace or rework the Dallas when it runs out. At the very least it will keep the time and stop complaining about a preposterous date in the filesystem at boot.
jan-jaap Offline
SGI Collector

Posts: 144
Threads: 4
Joined: Jun 2018
Website Find Reply
09-22-2018, 09:53 AM
#6
RE: Real Time Clock
So the Dallas chip on the octane is similar to the Indy where there is a battery in cased in the chip?
Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames Offline
Octane

Posts: 171
Threads: 42
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-23-2018, 02:14 AM
#7
RE: Real Time Clock
Thanks, guys Smile.

I have bought a few of these to replace them on the mainboard.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1pcs-DS1687-5-Maxim-Real-Time-Clock-3V-5V-RTC/263932311765?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

I think I could hack them aok but if I only need to change an IC once every 15 years (and it's even in a chip carrier) I can do that and it would look better imo Wink

(09-23-2018, 02:14 AM)bjames Wrote: So the Dallas chip on the octane is similar to the Indy where there is a battery in cased in the chip?

yep, seems to be.  

The chip number is DS1687-5

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pJ2F6OjyIU
[Image: Octaneb.png] Dual 195MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache per processor, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/2MB Secondary Cache, SE Graphics
[Image: Octaneb.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
[Image: Octane2c.png] 250MHz R10000 CPU Module w/1MB Secondary Cache, SI Graphics
(This post was last modified: 10-04-2018, 02:36 AM by Infiltratr.)
Infiltratr Offline
Octane/Octane/Octane

Posts: 25
Threads: 10
Joined: Sep 2018
Find Reply
10-04-2018, 02:33 AM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)