What SGI Hardware do you have?
#21
Re: What SGI Hardware do you have?
An <B>Indy</B> R4400/200/24-bit - my first SGI, purchased in 19<B>99</B>, back when $600 for an Indy with a 20" monitor and a granite KB/M was a smokin' deal. (-;

An Octane2/2x400/4GB/V12-DCD/Shoebox/DM-2 w/BoB/XIO FC board//an ex-Discreet set-up.

A Tezro, 4x800/V12-DCD/DM-3 w/BoB. Another ex-Discreet system.
indy99
InfiniteReality

Posts: 43
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
06-15-2018, 01:01 AM
#22
Re: What SGI Hardware do you have?
As of right now...

3 Octanes (green, bug logo):

<U> <E>Octane</E> Octane #1</U>
Silver-handle IP30 w/2x300MHz R12000
2.5GB RAM
PCI Shoebox w/Gig-E card
MXI graphics
DDS4 tape (for data) + DDS2 tape (for playing DAT audio)
146GB 15krpm Seagate Cheetah
Cherokee PSU

<U> <E>Octane</E> Octane #2</U>
Black-handle IP30 w/2x195MHz R10000
640MB RAM
SE Graphics w/Personal Video option board
74GB 10krpm Seagate Cheetah
Lucent PSU

<U> <E>Octane</E> Octane #3</U>
Black-handle IP30 w/2x195MHz R10000
256MB RAM
dead SE graphics Sad
74GB 10krpm Seagate Cheetah
Lucent PSU

I have an SSE card on the way, I just need another 37mhz TRAM to pop onto that to make it an MXE. Plan to put that into #1 Octane once I locate the TRAM.

<U> <E>Indigo2</E> Indigo 2</U>
Green enclosure
IP22 mainboard
PM5 CPU - 250MHz R4400, 2MB cache
384MB RAM
GU1-Extreme graphics
Phobos G160 GIO Fast Ethernet
36GB 10krpm Seagate Savvio HD
Lockbar!

<U> <E>Indy</E> Indy</U>
133MHz R4600SC
128MB RAM
XL24 Graphics
IndyCam
Sony PSU
36GB 10krpm Seagate Savvio HD


I only have one set of peripherals for these unfortunately: a Granite kb (alps), granite mouse and granite powered speakers (uses the power output on the Octane board). I do have a beige pre-PS2 keyboard/mouse in case I run across an Indigo or earlier machine some day.

I also have an assortment of spare parts, mostly for Indigo2: mainboards, graphics cards, etc.

<r><E>Octane</E> <E>Octane</E> <E>Octane</E> <E>Indigo2</E> <E>Indy</E><br/>
<br/>
<URL url="https://halfmanhalftaco.com/">https://halfmanhalftaco.com/</URL></r>
halfmanhalftaco
O2

Posts: 11
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2018
Find Reply
07-11-2018, 03:35 PM
#23
Re: What SGI Hardware do you have?
Two Indys. My main one is an R5000SC/180, 256mb RAM, XL24 graphics, IRIX 6.5.22 on an SD card and the Sony PSU. A second one I keep around as a spare chassis is an R4400SC/200, 64mb RAM, 8 bit graphics. Don't really have the room for anything beyond this at the moment.

<E>Indy</E> R5000SC/180, 256MB RAM, IRIX 6.5.22 | <E>Indy</E> (spare) R4400SC/200, 64MB RAM | Sun SPARCstation 5, Sun Netra X1, Digital Server 1000, piles of old Macs and PCs
I run the <URL url="https://preterhuman.net">preterhuman.net</URL> collection of sites (text files, old software, computing wiki, etc). I also make <URL url="https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLQvb287WbzVbAzPImDwBGpeISJMql5nAd">retro computing videos</URL>.
netfreak
O2

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-20-2018, 11:02 PM
#24
RE: What SGI Hardware do you have?
I only have a 4x800 Tezro.

Previously also had 2x Indy, 2x Indigo, and 2x Octane.

And I keep feeling sorry for not deciding to buy a complete 4x1GHz Tezro + Discreet setup last year when I had a chance. After I passed the offer, it went to one of other forum members.
devv
O2

Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
12-22-2018, 04:46 PM
#25
RE: What SGI Hardware do you have?
How is my old tezro doing in your hands mate? I still regret selling that one so many years later.

The magma of our souls burns with a mighty flame! Gurren Lagann! Just who in the hell do you think we are!?

Proud member of Team Gurren, the founder, operator, and developer behind IRIX Network. 

I'm carrying on Pete's legacy, and while I'm not perfect, I'm the only man for the job. Believe in yourself. Not in the you who believes in me. Not the me who believes in you. Believe in the you who believes in yourself.

[Image: daigurrensig.png]
Raion
Operator
*******

Posts: 420
Threads: 82
Joined: Nov 2017
Website Find Reply
12-22-2018, 06:55 PM
#26
RE: What SGI Hardware do you have?
(12-22-2018, 04:46 PM)devv Wrote:  I only have a 4x800 Tezro.

Previously also had 2x Indy, 2x Indigo, and 2x Octane.

And I keep feeling sorry for not deciding to buy a complete 4x1GHz Tezro + Discreet setup last year when I had a chance. After I passed the offer, it went to one of other forum members.

That's still a very nice system you have there! Smile

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 652
Threads: 106
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
12-22-2018, 07:10 PM
#27
RE: What SGI Hardware do you have?
I guess this is a good place to start.

Currently, I'm down to:
  • Paradoxides, R3k Indigo (30 MHz, 96 MB RAM, 500 MB HD, Irix 5.3. works but needs another one of those TOD batteries, Indigo video board)
  • Helicoprion, R5k Indy (180 MHz, 256 MB RAM, HD varies, still haven't done that NVRAM mod yet, but it still boots)
  • Carcharodon, R4400 Indigo2 (200 MHz. Extreme gfx, 128 MB RAM, HD none now, since it took a four-ft tumble onto a concrete floor during our recent 7.0 earthquake, but it otherwise works)

And a trio of Octanes:
  • Liopleurodon, 2xR10k (195 MHz, MXE gfx, I forget the RAM as I have appropriated its power supply, HD around here somewhere)
  • Pachyrhinosaurus, 2xR12k (360 MHz, SI gfx, just under 2 GB RAM for the Impact Compression board, HDs: yes, DDS4 drive)
  • Sarcosuchus_imperator, R14k (actually an Octane2, 600 MHz, V8 gfx, 8 GB RAM, all the rest of the HDs, FC board, probably needs a new Cherokee power supply, since I may be using an older Lucent one, on account of the Cherokee PS making clicking noises and not working)
(This post was last modified: 12-24-2018, 08:27 AM by CGFX.us.)
CGFX.us
Brain Collector

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Dec 2018
Website Find Reply
12-23-2018, 10:37 PM
#28
RE: What SGI Hardware do you have?
A fair bit down from the pinnacle of my SGI collecting insanity, but I'll do a short list of the best machines in the lot. Stealing CGFX's formatting since I like it:

Matchbox, R4400 Crimson (150mhz, VGXT, 256mb RAM, and stacked with original hard drives. Jurassic Classic #60. Works in single-user mode, but software config issues make it crash on fully booting IRIX. Some day it'll get some TLC from me. Named because it caught fire once.)

Octodad, 4xR16K Onyx4 (800mhz, dual R300NG FireGL's, 2gb of RAM. The current workhorse, a very unique machine that I plan to add another 4 CPU's and extra RAM to in the near future. Named because it'll have 8 processors eventually.)

Fuchsia, R10K Indigo2 (195mhz, MaxImpact+TRAM and SolidImpact for dual monitor support, 768mb RAM. Apart from not having the gig of memory, it's the fastest I2I possible. Might keep it around since I really like I2's. Named after a friend.)

Enigma, R4600 Indy NTT Prototype (133mhz, Newport graphics, 16mb RAM. This thing's wild. Expect a more elaborate forum post about it soon! Named after what it is.)

Also 4 Octanes + an Octane2, a normal Indy, three other Indigo2's, and two complete Indigo1's with dead power supplies. Former owner of multiple O2's, an Onyx Deskside, and a Fuel. Computers are a hell of a drug.
(This post was last modified: 12-24-2018, 12:21 AM by CiaoTime.)
CiaoTime
Maple Syrup Enthusiast

Posts: 30
Threads: 3
Joined: Jul 2018
Find Reply
12-24-2018, 12:16 AM
#29
RE: What SGI Hardware do you have?
A powerful Octane 2!

[Image: Octane2c.png] R14000 600MHz, 4GB Ram, V12 w DCD, 300GB 15K HDD
indrema
O2

Posts: 24
Threads: 7
Joined: Sep 2018
Find Reply
12-26-2018, 07:28 PM
#30
RE: What SGI Hardware do you have?
Two Octane 2 units
1. dual 400MHz V10 4608 MB RAM
2. single 60 MHz V6 7GB RAM

Indgo2 + Max Impact, 512 MB RAM

Origin 2K deskside - 8 x 400 MHz 8GB RAM - MX graphics mod
Origin 2k rack - 16 x 400MHz 16 RB RAM - graphic mod

I have had many other SGI systems in the past including a O3800 5 rack system in the past - utterly impractical ;-)
maxskeg
O2

Posts: 23
Threads: 12
Joined: Dec 2018
Find Reply
12-27-2018, 11:27 AM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)