What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
#1
What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
This is my current collection of Sun hardware:

[img]https://i.imgur.com/FJafDMC.png[/img]


Attached Files Image(s)
   

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 560
Threads: 77
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
05-22-2018, 05:25 PM
#2
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
The only thing I like about the SPARC architecture is the early idea behind their concept of Register-Window.

I also happen to have a SunRay2, brand-new, but the software for Linux is not so easy-going, and I don't like that.
There were laptop-terminals made with the same philosophy, thus they download the operating system through the wifi, and then do their stuff to allow you to have your desktop.

Good idea, but they are not comfortable, to complex to be configured for Linux, and too slow.
okonoko
O2

Posts: 16
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2018
Find Reply
05-22-2018, 06:50 PM
#3
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
Here's what I've got.
Sun SPARCclassic:
[img]https://i.imgur.com/kIYxU8p.jpg[/img]
Specs:
- CPU: microSPARC @ 50MHz
- RAM: 128MB
- Storage: 2GB SCSI2SD v5b
- Graphics: CG3 (Built-in)
- OS: SunOS 4.1.4

Sun Ultra 1:
[img]https://i.imgur.com/iKoCBFu.jpg[/img]
I've still been unable to get the RasterFlex to work in this (outside of console anyway). If I'm unable to, I may try it in my Axil 311 to see if it's an issue with the Sun-4u systems.
Specs:
- CPU: Sun UltraSPARC I @ 167MHz
- RAM: 64MB
- Storage: 2.1GB IBM HDD
- Graphics: ViTech RasterFlex-HR
- OS: Sun Solaris 2.6

Axil 311:
[img]https://i.imgur.com/2lg7cp9.jpg[/img]
This is missing all but one of its feet, and as it's the center one, it's super wobbly. I just got this machine a couple of months ago. I didn't intend to buy another machine, but it was super cheap, and I'd wanted a Sun clone for a while, so...
Specs:
-CPU: Sun SuperSPARC @ 40MHz
-RAM: (Not sure, as I haven't done much with this machine yet)
-Storage: (None at current)
-Graphics: CG6
-OS: (None)

Digital Personal Workstation
Hewlett-Packard Visualize C3700 (HP-UX 11.11)
IBM RS/6000 7011-250 (AIX 4.3.3) | IBM RS/6000 7044-170 (AIX 5.3)
Silicon Graphics Indy R4600
Sun SPARCclassic (SunOS 4.1.4) | Sun Ultra 1 (Solaris 2.6) | Axil 311
thunderbird32
Octane

Posts: 52
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
05-22-2018, 07:40 PM
#4
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
I don't remember all Sun machines, but here is a short list:
Sun 3/60
Sun 3/E
Sun 3/80
Sun 4/E
SPARCclassic
Sparcstation 1
Sparcstation 4
Ultra 5
Fire V100
Netra X1
CP1500
CP2140
kokoboi
O2

Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
05-24-2018, 06:44 AM
#5
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
I have 4 Sun machines in my inventory

Sun Ultra 10
Sun Java Station (Krups)
Sun Blade 2500 (Red)
Sun T3-1
HAL
Tezro / Onyx350

Posts: 17
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
05-24-2018, 10:25 PM
#6
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
Ultra 10 Creator 3D 440, UPA card delete (went to a friend instead for his Ultra 10)
-XVR-100 64MB, 768MB RAM,
-128MB IDE DOM for boot,
-Mac-flashed Silicon Image 3112-based Adaptec AAR-1210SA SATA I card
-500GB + 750GB SATA HDDs on said card, rootfs on the 500
-Intel Pro/1000 PCI card, because screw the onboard 100Mbit and its terribly-hot NS 10/100 Eth PHY in-line
-Adaptec-branded 3-port +1 internal USB2 card.
Runs Debian Wheezy 7.11, 3.16 backports kernel.

Sparcstation 5 110MHz
-256MB RAM (crafty RAM modification done to get this on-the-cheap)
-18GB Seagate Cheetah 10k w/HDD fan (what I had on hand.)
-TGX Framebuffer
runs Debian Etch w/custom 2.4.37.11 kernel.

Ultra 5 333 unpopulated, spare parts donor for the Ultra 10
Ultra 2 Creator, unknown USII speed, 1GB RAM, mismatched drives, has a 4GB? in it from an Octane as-acquired, never powered.

Sparcstation 2, 64MB, no drives, broken plastic everywhere. Exists only to keep the Weitek Power-uP! 80MHz CPU upgrade inside safe for possible swap into an IPX down the line.

X2200M2, 2x QuadCore Opteron 2373 EE 2.1GHz, 64GB RAM, no HDD, awaiting some parts for ideal setup before powering again. Had to replace some filter caps on CPU 1 in 2015.

oh, also a Lunchbox SCSI enclosure with a Seagate Elite 9 drive in it, with files on it pertaining to something with AT&T.

Pretty much all I have, and wanting more.
Sudos
O2

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
05-25-2018, 01:02 PM
#7
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
I can’t remember exactly, but I think:

2x enterprise 3000s with veritas lics
V890 with veritas lics
V440 with veritas lics
The above all have xinet kashare licensed

Ipx (I think.. is that the little one?)
A sun station can’t remember the model, has a 75mhz cpu
Blade desktop.
opcode
O2

Posts: 21
Threads: 6
Joined: Jan 2018
Find Reply
07-26-2018, 05:30 PM
#8
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
A Sun Fire V240 (maxed) and 2 Sun Fire V210s.
   

I'd like to get a Sun workstation.

Octane Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30
O2 Kiki - O2 - R5k 200 MHz - 128 MB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30 - on loan from Raion
Indy Gary - Indy - R5k 180 MHz - 24-bit XL Graphics -  192 MB RAM - 6.5.22
Mirrors
LarBob
Global Moderator
******

Posts: 69
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
07-31-2018, 04:31 AM
#9
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
Pizzaboxes:

SPARCstation 20 #1
2x125MHz Ross HyperSPARC
448MB RAM + 8MB VSIMM
SunSwift Fast Ethernet + Fast/Wide SCSI-2
SunPC 5x86 accelerator card
36GB 2.5" SCA disk with Solaris 2.6 installed

SPARCstation 20 #2
2x60MHz SuperSPARC-II
192MB RAM
TurboGXplus Framebuffer
SunSwift Fast Ethernet + Fast/Wide SCSI-2
4GB Fujitsu disk, Solaris 2.2 on it currently

Lunchboxes:

SPARCstation IPC
32MB RAM
GX Framebuffer
FSBE/S Fast SCSI/10BaseT card

SPARCstation IPX
48MB RAM
FSBE/S Fast SCSI/10BaseT card

SPARCclassic
48MB RAM
GX Framebuffer

SPARCclassic X
72MB RAM

SPARCstation LX
48MB RAM

Others:

Sun Blade 100
2GB RAM
Expert3D-Lite framebuffer
Gigabit ethernet card
120GB IDE disk with Solaris 8

JavaStation (Mr. Coffee)

I also have a stash of SCSI peripherals:

Sun 411 CD-ROM (replaced caddy-loader with an UltraPLEX 40max)
Sun 411 QIC-150 drive
Sun 911 4-bay disk enclosure
Sun 611 CD-ROM (tray-loader)
Sun 611 DDS4 Tape (newer-style grey/purple case)

Sun L7ZF 17" VGA/DVI LCD

A handful of miscellaneous SBus/MBus cards including framebuffers, SCSI cards and FDDI card or two.
halfmanhalftaco
O2

Posts: 11
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2018
Find Reply
07-31-2018, 08:57 PM
#10
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
LarBob post_id=1829 time=1533011504 user_id=70 Wrote:A Sun Fire V240 (maxed) [...]
v240neofetch.PNG
Nice machine Larbob and also nice to see Tribblix working on it. I also have both V240 and V210, although the other way round (i.e. 1 x V210 and 2 x V240).

Sometime ago I wanted to upgrade one of my V240s to two 1.5 GHz UltraSPARC IIIi but failed for some reason I did not yet figure out. It originally came with two UltraSPARC IIIi running at about 1 GHz. During exchange of these processors against two UltraSPARC IIIi rated for 1.5 GHz I recognized that the installed processors were actually rated for 1.28 GHz but configured to 1 GHz via the JP4 jumper. I suspect that the installed system board is maybe too old to support the processors rated for 1.5 GHz or better the needed configuration option (which is 1-2 and 5-6 closed on JP4). Because during startup diagnostics I always get:

Code:
<i>
</i>[...]
0>ERROR: TEST = Set CPU/System Speed
0>H/W under test = Motherboard I2C
0>Repair Instructions: Replace items in order listed by 'H/W under test' above.
0>MSG = No matching MCR entry found for jumper setting 5 in the OP and OB segment.
        Defaulting Configuration.
0>END_ERROR
                                                                                                                                                                      \
0>ERROR: TEST = Set CPU/System Speed
0>H/W under test = Motherboard (I2C)
0>Repair Instructions: Replace items in order listed by 'H/W under test' above.
0>MSG =
         *** Test Failed!! ***

0>END_ERROR
[...]

The board is OK though, if the CPU speed is configured to 1 GHz (1-2 or 3-4 closed on JP4) or 1.28 GHz (1-2 and 3-4 closed on JP4) everything works without a hassle with the two UltraSPARC IIIi rated for 1.5 GHz installed.

As I already have the latest versions of both OBP and ALOM installed, I don't think this is related to firmware level but maybe board revision or P/N. My board is labelled 375-3148 (Motherboard Assy), the combination of processors, heatsinks, fans and system board is labelled 375-3150.

Would you mind and have a look at the P/Ns of your V240? If you open the machine and stand beside it, the PSUs far from you and the - hopefully empty - PCI64 slots close, the "Motherboard Assy" label is located below jumperJP4 which is left of the ALi south bridge and the combination label is located left of the onboard SCSI controller close to the slot covers. And if you're already at it, what configuration is set on jumper JP4 on your V240?

Indigo Indy Indigo2 IMPACT O2 Octane Octane2 Origin 200 = Origin 200 - Origin 200 = Origin 200

johnnym
O2

Posts: 39
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
08-01-2018, 06:09 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)