What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
#11
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
Owned a few different Sun boxen over the years - originally started out with an Ultra and a couple different Ultra II models, picked up an IPC that used to belong to classichasclass but never got it set up before moving it on to another home. Currently I have a Blade 2000 with 2x1GHz UltraSPARC-IIi CPUs, 8GB RAM, and an XVR-1200 running Solaris 9, plus a Sparcstation 2 with the stock 40MHz CPU, 32MB RAM, and a TGX framebuffer running SunOS 4.1.4. Still need to get any software worth doing stuff with loaded on either, though.

Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Proteus/2, Nord Lead 2, Behringer Model D
commodorejohn
PDP-X

Posts: 124
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
08-01-2018, 08:05 PM
#12
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
johnnym post_id=1883 time=1533146970 user_id=209 Wrote:
LarBob post_id=1829 time=1533011504 user_id=70 Wrote:A Sun Fire V240 (maxed) [...]
v240neofetch.PNG
Nice machine Larbob and also nice to see Tribblix working on it. I also have both V240 and V210, although the other way round (i.e. 1 x V210 and 2 x V240).

Sometime ago I wanted to upgrade one of my V240s to two 1.5 GHz UltraSPARC IIIi but failed for some reason I did not yet figure out. It originally came with two UltraSPARC IIIi running at about 1 GHz. During exchange of these processors against two UltraSPARC IIIi rated for 1.5 GHz I recognized that the installed processors were actually rated for 1.28 GHz but configured to 1 GHz via the JP4 jumper. I suspect that the installed system board is maybe too old to support the processors rated for 1.5 GHz or better the needed configuration option (which is 1-2 and 5-6 closed on JP4). Because during startup diagnostics I always get:

Code:
<i>
</i>[...]
0>ERROR: TEST = Set CPU/System Speed
0>H/W under test = Motherboard I2C
0>Repair Instructions: Replace items in order listed by 'H/W under test' above.
0>MSG = No matching MCR entry found for jumper setting 5 in the OP and OB segment.
        Defaulting Configuration.
0>END_ERROR
                                                                                                                                                                      \
0>ERROR: TEST = Set CPU/System Speed
0>H/W under test = Motherboard (I2C)
0>Repair Instructions: Replace items in order listed by 'H/W under test' above.
0>MSG =
         *** Test Failed!! ***

0>END_ERROR
[...]

The board is OK though, if the CPU speed is configured to 1 GHz (1-2 or 3-4 closed on JP4) or 1.28 GHz (1-2 and 3-4 closed on JP4) everything works without a hassle with the two UltraSPARC IIIi rated for 1.5 GHz installed.

As I already have the latest versions of both OBP and ALOM installed, I don't think this is related to firmware level but maybe board revision or P/N. My board is labelled 375-3148 (Motherboard Assy), the combination of processors, heatsinks, fans and system board is labelled 375-3150.

Would you mind and have a look at the P/Ns of your V240? If you open the machine and stand beside it, the PSUs far from you and the - hopefully empty - PCI64 slots close, the "Motherboard Assy" label is located below jumperJP4 which is left of the ALi south bridge and the combination label is located left of the onboard SCSI controller close to the slot covers. And if you're already at it, what configuration is set on jumper JP4 on your V240?

I believe it should be jumpered on 1,2+5,6. I found where someone else installed the 1.5 GHz CPUs in their machine and that's what they had set. I'll check mine in a minute.

Edit: Yep. 1,2+5,6

Octane Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30
O2 Kiki - O2 - R5k 200 MHz - 128 MB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30 - on loan from Raion
Indy Gary - Indy - R5k 180 MHz - 24-bit XL Graphics -  192 MB RAM - 6.5.22
Mirrors
LarBob
Global Moderator
******

Posts: 69
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
08-02-2018, 12:36 AM
#13
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
LarBob post_id=1891 time=1533170175 user_id=70 Wrote:
johnnym post_id=1883 time=1533146970 user_id=209 Wrote:[...]
Would you mind and have a look at the P/Ns of your V240? If you open the machine and stand beside it, the PSUs far from you and the - hopefully empty - PCI64 slots close, the "Motherboard Assy" label is located below jumperJP4 which is left of the ALi south bridge and the combination label is located left of the onboard SCSI controller close to the slot covers. And if you're already at it, what configuration is set on jumper JP4 on your V240?

I believe it should be jumpered on 1,2+5,6. I found where someone else installed the 1.5 GHz CPUs in their machine and that's what they had set. I'll check mine in a minute.

Edit: Yep. 1,2+5,6
Ok, so at least the configuration is valid. What about your P/Ns?

Indigo Indy Indigo2 IMPACT O2 Octane Octane2 Origin 200 = Origin 200 - Origin 200 = Origin 200

johnnym
O2

Posts: 39
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
08-02-2018, 06:57 AM
#14
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
johnnym post_id=1895 time=1533193027 user_id=209 Wrote:
LarBob post_id=1891 time=1533170175 user_id=70 Wrote:
johnnym post_id=1883 time=1533146970 user_id=209 Wrote:[...]
Would you mind and have a look at the P/Ns of your V240? If you open the machine and stand beside it, the PSUs far from you and the - hopefully empty - PCI64 slots close, the "Motherboard Assy" label is located below jumperJP4 which is left of the ALi south bridge and the combination label is located left of the onboard SCSI controller close to the slot covers. And if you're already at it, what configuration is set on jumper JP4 on your V240?

I believe it should be jumpered on 1,2+5,6. I found where someone else installed the 1.5 GHz CPUs in their machine and that's what they had set. I'll check mine in a minute.

Edit: Yep. 1,2+5,6
Ok, so at least the configuration is valid. What about your P/Ns?
According to serverworlds, PN 375-3325 is the board for 2x 1.5 GHz CPUs.

Octane Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30
O2 Kiki - O2 - R5k 200 MHz - 128 MB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30 - on loan from Raion
Indy Gary - Indy - R5k 180 MHz - 24-bit XL Graphics -  192 MB RAM - 6.5.22
Mirrors
LarBob
Global Moderator
******

Posts: 69
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
08-02-2018, 04:32 PM
#15
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
LarBob post_id=1905 time=1533227564 user_id=70 Wrote:
johnnym post_id=1895 time=1533193027 user_id=209 Wrote:
LarBob post_id=1891 time=1533170175 user_id=70 Wrote:I believe it should be jumpered on 1,2+5,6. I found where someone else installed the 1.5 GHz CPUs in their machine and that's what they had set. I'll check mine in a minute.

Edit: Yep. 1,2+5,6
Ok, so at least the configuration is valid. What about your P/Ns?
According to serverworlds, PN 375-3325 is the board for 2x 1.5 GHz CPUs.
Ok thanks. This (system board) P/N is used in multiple combination P/Ns (i.e. 375-3344 (V210/V240) with 1 x 1 × 1.336GHz US IIIi, 375-3345 (V210 only) with 2 x 1.336GHz US IIIi and 375-3346 (V240 only) with 2 x 1.503GHz US IIIi) and I wonder if perhaps the combination P/N also determines the available multiplier settings.
And if e.g. your V240 would have a 375-3325 system board with e.g. 375-3344 combination P/N and is currently running two 1.5 GHz US IIIi processors (so was upgraded some where in time), it would indicate, that this is not the case. I.e. one could than assume that all 375-3325 system boards allow for operation with 1.5 GHz US IIIi processors. I'm asking those details because this page gives the multiplier settings for the V240/V210 system boards, but apparently these are not valid or not all settings are available for all system board P/Ns, e.g. not for mine which is a 375-3148.

Indigo Indy Indigo2 IMPACT O2 Octane Octane2 Origin 200 = Origin 200 - Origin 200 = Origin 200

johnnym
O2

Posts: 39
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
08-02-2018, 06:05 PM
#16
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
johnnym post_id=1908 time=1533233145 user_id=209 Wrote:
LarBob post_id=1905 time=1533227564 user_id=70 Wrote:
johnnym post_id=1895 time=1533193027 user_id=209 Wrote:Ok, so at least the configuration is valid. What about your P/Ns?
According to serverworlds, PN 375-3325 is the board for 2x 1.5 GHz CPUs.
Ok thanks. This (system board) P/N is used in multiple combination P/Ns (i.e. 375-3344 (V210/V240) with 1 x 1 × 1.336GHz US IIIi, 375-3345 (V210 only) with 2 x 1.336GHz US IIIi and 375-3346 (V240 only) with 2 x 1.503GHz US IIIi) and I wonder if perhaps the combination P/N also determines the available multiplier settings.
And if e.g. your V240 would have a 375-3325 system board with e.g. 375-3344 combination P/N and is currently running two 1.5 GHz US IIIi processors (so was upgraded some where in time), it would indicate, that this is not the case. I.e. one could than assume that all 375-3325 system boards allow for operation with 1.5 GHz US IIIi processors. I'm asking those details because this page gives the multiplier settings for the V240/V210 system boards, but apparently these are not valid or not all settings are available for all system board P/Ns, e.g. not for mine which is a 375-3148.

So you would like me to check my board's P/N as well as the combination P/N?

Octane Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30
O2 Kiki - O2 - R5k 200 MHz - 128 MB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30 - on loan from Raion
Indy Gary - Indy - R5k 180 MHz - 24-bit XL Graphics -  192 MB RAM - 6.5.22
Mirrors
LarBob
Global Moderator
******

Posts: 69
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
08-02-2018, 09:13 PM
#17
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
LarBob post_id=1923 time=1533244428 user_id=70 Wrote:So you would like me to check my board's P/N as well as the combination P/N?
Yes, that was the original idea (see last paragraph of http://forums.irix.cc/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=60#p1883). Of course only if it doesn't create too much work for you. :-)

Indigo Indy Indigo2 IMPACT O2 Octane Octane2 Origin 200 = Origin 200 - Origin 200 = Origin 200

johnnym
O2

Posts: 39
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
08-02-2018, 09:23 PM
#18
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
johnnym post_id=1924 time=1533245028 user_id=209 Wrote:
LarBob post_id=1923 time=1533244428 user_id=70 Wrote:So you would like me to check my board's P/N as well as the combination P/N?
Yes, that was the original idea (see last paragraph of http://forums.irix.cc/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=60#p1883). Of course only if it doesn't create too much work for you. :-)

Sorry for taking a while to respond. The SunFRU PN is 375-3459-02.

Octane Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30
O2 Kiki - O2 - R5k 200 MHz - 128 MB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30 - on loan from Raion
Indy Gary - Indy - R5k 180 MHz - 24-bit XL Graphics -  192 MB RAM - 6.5.22
Mirrors
LarBob
Global Moderator
******

Posts: 69
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
08-09-2018, 08:38 PM
#19
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
LarBob post_id=2143 time=1533847139 user_id=70 Wrote:
johnnym post_id=1924 time=1533245028 user_id=209 Wrote:
LarBob post_id=1923 time=1533244428 user_id=70 Wrote:So you would like me to check my board's P/N as well as the combination P/N?
Yes, that was the original idea (see last paragraph of http://forums.irix.cc/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=60#p1883). Of course only if it doesn't create too much work for you. :-)

Sorry for taking a while to respond. The SunFRU PN is 375-3459-02.
No issue, thanks for your board P/N, which seems to be the latest revision of the V210/V240 board. Your combination P/N is then 375-3465 or 375-3466 or 375-3467? This P/N should be on a label near the on-board SCSI controller ASIC.

Indigo Indy Indigo2 IMPACT O2 Octane Octane2 Origin 200 = Origin 200 - Origin 200 = Origin 200

johnnym
O2

Posts: 39
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
08-09-2018, 08:43 PM
#20
Re: What Sun Microsystems Hardware do you have?
johnnym post_id=2145 time=1533847414 user_id=209 Wrote:
LarBob post_id=2143 time=1533847139 user_id=70 Wrote:
johnnym post_id=1924 time=1533245028 user_id=209 Wrote:Yes, that was the original idea (see last paragraph of http://forums.irix.cc/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=60#p1883). Of course only if it doesn't create too much work for you. :-)

Sorry for taking a while to respond. The SunFRU PN is 375-3459-02.
No issue, thanks for your board P/N, which seems to be the latest revision of the V210/V240 board. Your combination P/N is then 375-3465 or 375-3466 or 375-3467? This P/N should be on a label near the on-board SCSI controller ASIC.

375-3467-02

Octane Aezora - Octane - 2xR10k 250 MHz - SI Graphics - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30
O2 Kiki - O2 - R5k 200 MHz - 128 MB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Calcifer - Origin 300 - 4xR14k 500 MHz - 2 GB RAM - 6.5.30
Two O350 modules Tohru - Origin 350 - 4xR16k 800 MHz - 4 GB RAM - 6.5.30 - on loan from Raion
Indy Gary - Indy - R5k 180 MHz - 24-bit XL Graphics -  192 MB RAM - 6.5.22
Mirrors
LarBob
Global Moderator
******

Posts: 69
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
08-09-2018, 11:14 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)