Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Flame 2008 - how to configure stone wire
#1
Flame 2008 - how to configure stone wire
I figured I would start a new thread specific to setting up the stone wired drive.

I have followed all the steps in the other flame 2008sp6 thread and cannot get flame to write the stone file system to any of my drives.  I have tried on my 74 gig drive on controller 0, scsi 3, sgi option drive on controller 1, scsi 5, and my midea video raid (4 drive, 250 gig hardware raid).

When I enter sw_config, I see the drives in the bottom window.  Then I do the following:

Slelect clear all
Select the drive to clear
Click add, create
Enter 0 for offset
Enter 0 for length
File system ID set to 2 as per the sw config document in /user/discreet/sw/
Static IP address is set to 192.168.001.002 for octane system
I click on partition 0 green box at top of window
Then click on the drive I want to use as stone, the drive box turns from white to green
Click save

Get the warning for filesystem will creat on partition 0
Click ok to accept data will be lost
Next warning appears about some partitions have no raid protection due to lack of parity disk
Click ok
Then it says “saving device information failed.  Stone file system failed for partition 0”

I can’t get past this point.
Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
(This post was last modified: 09-09-2018, 12:56 AM by bjames.)
bjames Offline
Octane

Posts: 171
Threads: 42
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-08-2018, 11:31 PM
#2
RE: Flame 2008 - how to configure stone wire
(09-08-2018, 11:31 PM)bjames Wrote: Static IP address is set to 192.168.001.002 for octane system
This raised an eyebrow..  192.168.001.002 ? Should that not be 192.168.1.2 (just a thought).

I presume also since you are using 2008, that the licence is temp removed from /usr/local/flexlm/linceses/… Mind you, if you hadn't, then sw_config crashes?
Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix Offline
Octane

Posts: 196
Threads: 26
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
09-09-2018, 10:48 AM
#3
RE: Flame 2008 - how to configure stone wire
yeah I was looking over this also, seems some people are able to run sw_config with licenses still present, some cant, I haven't been able to trace out that issue yet, but it doesn't seem he is having that issue.

The IP thing might be an issue, also I sort of threw an eyebrow on the "Enter 0 for length" part. I dunno - configuring a stonefs is not something thats done often, its more like do it once and done sort of thing, I was planning on redoing my stonefs this weekend so I was going to relook over everything (hopefully - working on saving all my stuff now), but we all know S+W can be a real pain
(This post was last modified: 09-09-2018, 11:06 AM by gijoe77.)
gijoe77 Offline
Tezro

Posts: 354
Threads: 23
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-09-2018, 11:04 AM
#4
RE: Flame 2008 - how to configure stone wire
(09-09-2018, 11:04 AM)gijoe77 Wrote: yeah I was looking over this also, seems some people are able to run sw_config with licenses still present, some cant, I haven't been able to trace out that issue yet, but it doesn't seem he is having that issue.

The IP thing might be an issue, also I sort of threw an eyebrow on the "Enter 0 for length" part.  I dunno - configuring a stonefs is not something thats done often, its more like do it once and done sort of thing, I was planning on redoing my stonefs this weekend so I was going to relook over everything (hopefully - working on saving all my stuff now), but we all know S+W can be a real pain

I tend to set the Length etc to zero because I'm generally amending or adding to a partition and if you have drives of differing sizes, it picks the length to the current last drive. So I set them both the zero to use the complete disk.
Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix Offline
Octane

Posts: 196
Threads: 26
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
09-09-2018, 11:09 AM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)