Octane Digital Video Option
#1
Octane Digital Video Option
Can anyone recommend what Digital to Analog and Analog to Digital Converter to use with this board?  In the DIVO installation guide they use these converters to connect to Composite video components including a display monitor to preview work.

Would you standard Black Magic SDI to Analog converters work?  My camera outputs HDMI so I was thinking of the HDMI to SDI converter from Back Magic design.

As for a reference monitor, I was thinking of using my Dell 2007 that has composite and S-Video NTSC inputs - this would be run through th digital to analog converter.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-07-2018, 05:41 PM
#2
RE: Octane Digital Video Option
I ended up purchasing a Sony dsr1800 vtr that has the SDI option. This unit was mfg in 1999-2005 and the SDI specs are same as they both use smpte-259m standard. Since the deck has digital to analog converters built in, it would work good with the octane divo. Once I receive the cables, I will find out if all works.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-24-2018, 01:15 AM
#3
RE: Octane Digital Video Option
I missed your original post for some reason.
I have a 2000ap model and it really is fantastic.

You don't need Blackmagic SDI - Analogue nor Analog - SDI, theses boxes will do all with the exception of HD.

And yes, you can throw an output to the versatile Dell 2007 range, I did (until I obtained some Broadcast Monitors).

Also, if you make a serial cable, you can use discreet product to remotely control the device which is rather cool.


I would recommend though to get the best out of the DSR is to read the big user manual.

Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix
Octane

Posts: 211
Threads: 27
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
09-24-2018, 07:55 AM
#4
RE: Octane Digital Video Option
To Loop out to the NTSC monitor, I assume you would connect as below?

Octane --> VIVO Loop Out ---> DSR Ref In----> DSR S-Video Out ---> Dell 2007 NTSC.

I downloaded the DSR1800 manual and will be reading for sure.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-24-2018, 03:57 PM
#5
RE: Octane Digital Video Option
(09-24-2018, 03:57 PM)bjames Wrote:  To Loop out to the NTSC monitor, I assume you would connect as below?

Octane -->  VIVO Loop Out --->  DSR Ref In---->  DSR S-Video Out  --->  Dell 2007 NTSC.

I downloaded the DSR1800 manual and will be reading for sure.

Not at all chap,

The VTR should act as the hub.

The Digital video board accepts SD.

The DSR Ref is for Sync Information (not to be confused with Time Code).

So whatever you want to put down any of the INPUTs will come out of everything else (so long as the source input is selected).

So, (very simply without TC & Ref), I have Composite from a CamCorder going to VIDEO IN (Not Component or SD, Composite tends to be called VIDEO IN).
Connect SD out (on DSR) to Input 1 (On Octane)
Connect S-Video / Composite to Dell 2007

If you play a DV Tape it will output to the Octane (SD) and the Dell (Composite/S-Video), and if you have your camcorder connected to the Video In on the DSR (and DSR NOT playing a tape and the correct input selected) it will pass through and convert all video for you.

You can connect Ref (Octane) to Ref Out (DSR).

[Edit.. BTW, I am, in the example not using a HDMI CamCorder, for that to record on the DSR, you would need HDMI - SD. You don't need to start with big bucks at Black Magic for this though (although they do produce them) I purchased a cheap and cheerful one off ebay some years back when I started this malarkey.]

Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
(This post was last modified: 09-24-2018, 04:57 PM by uunix.)
uunix
Octane

Posts: 211
Threads: 27
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
09-24-2018, 04:45 PM
#6
RE: Octane Digital Video Option
I assume when going out from the VTR to the Octane, your going out via SDI correct? - same for the VTR video input from the Octane.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-24-2018, 05:47 PM
#7
RE: Octane Digital Video Option
(09-24-2018, 05:47 PM)bjames Wrote:  I assume when going out from the VTR to the Octane, your going out via SDI correct? - same for the VTR video input from the Octane.

Yes, although I have never gone into the VTR from Octane, just out.

Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix
Octane

Posts: 211
Threads: 27
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
09-24-2018, 05:49 PM
#8
RE: Octane Digital Video Option
Do you have anything connected to the divo Loop connector?

Also what connector on the Divo board sees an external genlock time code from the DSR? The “ref” connection?

I’m trying to decode the DSR1800 manual, Divo manual and Jaleo installation manual. The terminology is confusing me I.e. sync, time code, genlock, GPI trigger, reference vs loop.. I have a basic understanding, but not a full understanding.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
10-06-2018, 02:50 AM
#9
RE: Octane Digital Video Option
(10-06-2018, 02:50 AM)bjames Wrote:  Do you have anything connected to the divo Loop connector?

Also what connector on the Divo board sees an external genlock time code from the DSR? The “ref” connection?

I’m trying to decode the DSR1800 manual, Divo manual and Jaleo installation manual.  The terminology is confusing me I.e. sync, time code, genlock, GPI trigger, reference vs loop..  I have a basic understanding, but not a full understanding.

I don't use the looping, I use the VTR deck as the hub.

No Time-Code on the card, the ref accepts the syncing pulse. So you could come from your ref-out on the VTR or an external sync generator. I don't know what a GPI Trigger does.

I think you have to remember as a basic, the REF != Time Code, and REF can also be called SYNC.

Time Code is like this...
You have ten cameras recording the same shot from different angles... 
When you get the ten tapes into the post editing, the time code allows you to line up all the tapes exactly.

Sync is a pulse of type (you can have, single, dual and tri types, also black burst and oh lots) that all objects set to accept external sync  will use to ensure the sound/res and all sorts, well basically synchronize correctly.

Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix
Octane

Posts: 211
Threads: 27
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
10-06-2018, 08:42 AM
#10
RE: Octane Digital Video Option
Ahhh. Thanks for the clarification. Much appreciated.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
10-08-2018, 12:53 AM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)