Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
#1
Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
I have an "iso" of corel draw 3.5, but I can't seem to figure out how to burn it/install it/etc - I uploaded the iso to the ftp, if someone with a bigger skillset than me can take a look at it that would be awesome
gijoe77 Offline
Tezro

Posts: 354
Threads: 23
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-02-2018, 02:41 AM
#2
RE: Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
I used CorelDraw way back in 2001/2002, would love to look at this if you could upload it?
Octane  1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30m

O2 300Mhz R12K (R10K upgrade mod),  384Mb, 6.5.30m, FPA  with  1600SW (Original R5K chassis, mobo and cpu in storage)
JacquesT Offline
Octane

Posts: 191
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-02-2018, 05:36 PM
#3
RE: Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
If it's anything like the CorelDraw ISO image I already have, it's just a standard ISO image that you can burn to disk just like any other.  Or you can loopback mount it (e.g., on a Linux box) and access the files over the network.  

Whether its on a physical disk or over the network, you should see a bunch of corel.* files and an install.cd file in the root directory of the disk.  The install.cd file is the installation script, so just run it from a (root) command line and follow the prompts.

Be forewarned that the "Help" system from CorelDraw does not work on IRIX 6.5.  (It seems to date from the 5.x era and something is missing from 6.5 but I forget what exactly.  It's been a while since I looked at this.)  Fortunately, it's just standard Windows95-era WinHelp files.  So you can either read the docs from a CorelDraw 3.5 installation on Windows or even open the help files under SoftWindows on IRIX.

SGI:  Indigo, Indigo2, Octane, Origin 300
Sun:  SPARCstation 20, Ultra 2, Blade 2500, T5240
HP:  9000/380, 425e, C8000
Digital: DECstation 5000/125
jpstewart Offline
O2

Posts: 43
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-03-2018, 12:26 AM
#4
RE: Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
well its a ".iso" file. but I wasn't able to burn it with nero for windows. I see all the files in winrar, but when I extract them most of them end up with zero size - very strange, I never saw this sort of behavior before.

it's on the ftp - it looks like Raion is still sorting everything, here is a direct link if y'all wanna see if you can figure it out
http://www.mediafire.com/file/fhvs9xnt1n...x.iso/file
(This post was last modified: 09-03-2018, 12:46 AM by gijoe77.)
gijoe77 Offline
Tezro

Posts: 354
Threads: 23
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-03-2018, 12:46 AM
#5
RE: Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
That's definitely not the same as the ISO I have;  it looks corrupted.  In fact, your whole ISO is only about 35 MB but the corel.sgi file in it exceeds that size on its own, never mind all the other stuff.  My ISO is over 600MB.  I'm not sure I can upload something that large.  If nobody else has the full ISO, remind me in about a week and I'll see if I can upload mine.

SGI:  Indigo, Indigo2, Octane, Origin 300
Sun:  SPARCstation 20, Ultra 2, Blade 2500, T5240
HP:  9000/380, 425e, C8000
Digital: DECstation 5000/125
jpstewart Offline
O2

Posts: 43
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-03-2018, 02:05 AM
#6
RE: Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
if you could upload that would be awesome, it sure does seem my iso is pretty much shot
gijoe77 Offline
Tezro

Posts: 354
Threads: 23
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-03-2018, 02:38 AM
#7
RE: Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
(09-03-2018, 02:05 AM)jpstewart Wrote: That's definitely not the same as the ISO I have;  it looks corrupted.  In fact, your whole ISO is only about 35 MB but the corel.sgi file in it exceeds that size on its own, never mind all the other stuff.  My ISO is over 600MB.  I'm not sure I can upload something that large.  If nobody else has the full ISO, remind me in about a week and I'll see if I can upload mine.

Please upload your iso. If you cant upload to ftp please share by wetransfer, dropbox or similar thing, I'll upload to FTP if test and works.
O2 O2 R12k  IRIS Crimson  Iris Crimson Elan R4400  Octane  Octane R10k
kikems Offline
Octane

Posts: 93
Threads: 12
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-03-2018, 05:12 AM
#8
RE: Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
(09-03-2018, 05:12 AM)kikems Wrote: Please upload your iso. If you cant upload to ftp please share by wetransfer, dropbox or similar thing

It's not the "ftp" part that's the problem.  It's my outgoing bandwidth that's an issue at the moment.  It'll be a long, slow upload whether I send it to this site's FTP server or dropbox or anywhere else.  I'm hoping somebody with a speedier Internet connection has it and can upload it.  

If I do upload it, I'll also include my notes about installation and the broken help system.  It'll be a few days before I can get that info together, anyway.

SGI:  Indigo, Indigo2, Octane, Origin 300
Sun:  SPARCstation 20, Ultra 2, Blade 2500, T5240
HP:  9000/380, 425e, C8000
Digital: DECstation 5000/125
jpstewart Offline
O2

Posts: 43
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-03-2018, 03:27 PM
#9
RE: Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
I finally had a chance to try to upload CorelDRAW for UNIX today.  It's a .tar.gz package instead of the original ISO image.  Not only did that cut the upload size in half, it also gave me the opportunity to add a README.txt with my notes on installation and some test reports.

Unfortunately, the upload seems to have stalled (after an hour!).  I'm not sure if it's a timeout on the server or if the upload completed successfully and I just didn't get any status message back.  The original coreldraw35unix.tar.gz file was 291902252 bytes in size and had an md5sum of 8eb106754cc18d79ccf99e979ac2db9e.  If the upload doesn't match those, it's no good.

SGI:  Indigo, Indigo2, Octane, Origin 300
Sun:  SPARCstation 20, Ultra 2, Blade 2500, T5240
HP:  9000/380, 425e, C8000
Digital: DECstation 5000/125
jpstewart Offline
O2

Posts: 43
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-09-2018, 11:56 PM
#10
RE: Corel Draw 3.5 for unix
I never heard anything back about my previous upload attempt, so I guess it failed.  I've just finished re-uploading via a different method.  This time I transferred it (very slowly!) to an intermediate host that has a much higher-bandwidth outgoing connection than I do at home.  Then I FTPed it from there to this site.  It looks like this time it worked.  (Seems the server timed out on my first attempt, which took over an hour on my connection.  This attempt took less than 30 seconds to transfer.)  

File size and md5sum are the same as reported in my previous message.

SGI:  Indigo, Indigo2, Octane, Origin 300
Sun:  SPARCstation 20, Ultra 2, Blade 2500, T5240
HP:  9000/380, 425e, C8000
Digital: DECstation 5000/125
jpstewart Offline
O2

Posts: 43
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
10-16-2018, 07:10 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)