User account or root
#1
User account or root
just courious how many people log8n to their systems as root and don’t bother setting up a personal user account when your the only one accessing the system.  Also the system is not connected to the net.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-01-2018, 01:21 AM
#2
RE: User account or root
I avoid it as long as I can have a user account set up with su/sudo privileges, because I like to know that nothing I do as a normal user is going to risk screwing up the root account.

Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Proteus/2, Nord Lead 2, Behringer Model D
commodorejohn
PDP-X

Posts: 124
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-01-2018, 02:42 AM
#3
RE: User account or root
I try to stick to my edumicatshun, and only use root for repetitive installs and admin tasks. My machines always end up on the net at some point, regardless of my original intent being offline. Ported Firefox 3 is just too enticing lol.

-- Brain
'To each his own. I'll have one of each.'
Personal Iris  Indigo Indigo Indigo Indigo Indigo Indy Indigo2 Indigo2 Indigo2 Indigo2 IMPACT Indigo2 IMPACT Indigo2 IMPACT O2 O2 Octane Octane Octane Octane2 Octane2
BrainStorm
Oktoberfestane2

Posts: 76
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2018
Find Reply
09-01-2018, 03:18 AM
#4
RE: User account or root
I'm currently using the root account on my Tezro, I like to be able to operate without restrictions, however I'm aware that you can easily mess up by operating the machine this way. (I've got two accounts on my machine, being the root and Flame accounts.)

Besides deleting something critical, what are the actual dangers here?

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
(This post was last modified: 09-01-2018, 03:34 AM by Irinikus.)
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 559
Threads: 76
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
09-01-2018, 03:32 AM
#5
RE: User account or root
I use both accounts interchangeably: root if I remember the password, and a normal user account if I forgot it.

After so many years using UNIX (and alienish OSs) on a daily basis I don't remember the last time I screwed up a system being root, so I think experience makes you go for the more comfortable route.
TruHobbyist
O2

Posts: 43
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-01-2018, 06:29 AM
#6
RE: User account or root
I use different accounts, only because I have different .login's and .profile's setup for different tasks. I don't think it really matters much to be honest, but If I'm doing audio work I log into my audio account, photoshopping/gimping into my 2D account, keygenning stuff via softwindows into softwin account, if im doing some compiling/programming I log into my dev account, etc

I used to only use one master account where I was basically logged in as root most of the time, but I sort of moved away from that only because I found I was accumulating massive amounts of files under the same account and it just got overwhelming. With the multiple accounts it helps me keep track of what is where
gijoe77
Tezro

Posts: 468
Threads: 27
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
09-01-2018, 07:01 AM
#7
RE: User account or root
I use different accounts, although saying that I do spend probably 2/3 of my time in a console window running as root. However, if I completely bork anything, it's nice to know there's a clean root account still available for me to use.

 Indigo2 IMPACT R10000 195MHz, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT, 36GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
Fuel R14000 600MHz, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
O2 in storage...
Trippynet
Indigo2 IMPACT

Posts: 89
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
09-01-2018, 11:28 AM
#8
RE: User account or root
In the main all my work is through a discreet account (flame), but I have a machine I do the audio tracking on and I just use root and yes, no password.

I never have root display on my login screen though.

Hey Ho Pip And Dandy!!!!!

Onyx2 :O2K_d-1: Origin 200 :tezro: Octane2 O2 Indigo Indy :320:
uunix
Octane

Posts: 211
Threads: 27
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
09-01-2018, 11:35 AM
#9
RE: User account or root
I'm use in root without password too. Today use a SGI is a hobby I'm no have critical data inside, and no need apply a paranoic security protocols for use my SGI machines. If someone want hack my SGI in remote and stolen my files, are welcome. Big Grin

O2 O2 R12k  IRIS Crimson  Iris Crimson Elan R4400  Octane  Octane R10k
(This post was last modified: 09-01-2018, 05:24 PM by kikems.)
kikems
Octane

Posts: 93
Threads: 12
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
09-01-2018, 05:23 PM
#10
RE: User account or root
That’s where I’m at, sgi are just used as a hobby. For all my other computers running Windows, I have always had administrative privileges anyway.

The reason I started to think about this is restrictions I have run into in the past when logged into my user account and had to back out and log in as root. So I thought of just not using or removing my user account without removing the files.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
09-01-2018, 07:21 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)