Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Lucy Runs! :)
#11
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
damn it's the plastic part that's inside the port (but how can it be noticed then??) i will try to get it out with a very small screw or i will drill it out with a very fine driller
PacMaN_2k1 Offline
O2

Posts: 37
Threads: 5
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 05:38 PM
#12
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
Confirm that it's the plastic "square" piece from a PS/2 plug that's stuck in the port?
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus Online
Tezro

Posts: 498
Threads: 65
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 05:42 PM
#13
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
mouse works :) i just broke the plastic part in the ps2 adapter for the mouse ;) i didn't want to drill in my sgi :D
but same "problem" same screen, saying that this one port is stuck, only 1 keyboard allowed, ethernet and then nothing
hmm i don't know if the system has a working installation, so would be a reinstall be an option?
PacMaN_2k1 Offline
O2

Posts: 37
Threads: 5
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 05:52 PM
#14
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
[img]http://radon-home.de/images/IMG_0141%5b1%5d.JPG[/img]
running some diagnostics now
PacMaN_2k1 Offline
O2

Posts: 37
Threads: 5
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 06:10 PM
#15
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
all tests completed :) so i guess the installation is shit, may that be? any link for an absolute beginner for a new install? i have the cds but no cd drive attached. about 6 computers running in my home (from win98 over nt, xo to windows 10. also one powermac g5 if that could be useful?
PacMaN_2k1 Offline
O2

Posts: 37
Threads: 5
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 06:16 PM
#16
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
when i wait long enough there's another message saying something about the installation and some files/directories could not be moved... and then the screen goes black (tried 2 different ones) maybe resolution? how can i set it down? looks like the installation on this hasn't completed yet i guess
PacMaN_2k1 Offline
O2

Posts: 37
Threads: 5
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 06:31 PM
#17
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
this is all i get before the screen goes black
[img]http://radon-home.de/images/IMG_0151%5b1%5d.JPG[/img]
PacMaN_2k1 Offline
O2

Posts: 37
Threads: 5
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 07:41 PM
#18
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
I cannot help you when it comes to the intricacies of a network install, as I have never carried out the procedure myself, however, there are many others here who can help you with that.

I personally would suggest that you get your hands on an external CD-ROM for your machine, as this will be very useful to you.

I personally like keeping my install software on a CD format.

Here's a link that will help you, when it comes to repartitioning your disk before you go ahead with the install:

http://www.futuretech.blinkenlights.nl/6.5inst.html

This is the list of disks that you need for an IRIX 6.5.30 install:

- irix6.5.30insttoolsOverlays1of3Aug2006
- irix6.5.30Overlays2of3Aug2006
- irix6.5.30Overlays3of3Aug2006
- IRIX-6.5 Foundation 1
- IRIX-6.5 Foundation 2
- IRIX Development Foundation 1.2 for IRIX 6.5
- IRIX 6.5 Development Libraries
- ONC3-NFS Version-3 for IRIX 6.2 Trough 6.5 05-99
- ApplicationsAug2006
- ComplementaryAppsAug2006

I would suggest you go with a maintenance stream, and don't forget to read the"unbundled" section of the irix6.5.30Overlays2of3Aug2006 disk.

These are the commands you issue after all of the disks have been read, for a conflict free install:

- keep *
- install standard
- keep java2_plugin.sw32.mozilla_freeware
- keep inventor_dev.sw.base
- keep inventor_dev.sw.lib
- install eoe.sw.fonttools
- install eoe.sw.uucp
- install eoe.sw.xlv
- install eoe.sw.spell
- install ftn_eoe
- install inventor_eoe.sw64
- install ifl_eoe.sw64
- install dmedia_eoe.sw64
- install prereqs
- keep incompleteoverlays
- rem java_dev*
- go
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus Online
Tezro

Posts: 498
Threads: 65
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 08:01 PM
#19
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
i have all the disks but version 6.5.1, i also have an dvd scsi drive, but i ordered the wrong one i guess (toshiba sd-m1401) it has the wrong connector or is there an adapter?
PacMaN_2k1 Offline
O2

Posts: 37
Threads: 5
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 08:20 PM
#20
Re: Lucy Runs! :)
Post a pic of the drive with it's connector.

Confirm that the connecting cable can be removed from the drive?

Give "mapesdhs" a PM regarding this, as he may be able to sell you the correct cable.
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus Online
Tezro

Posts: 498
Threads: 65
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
08-21-2018, 08:25 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)