Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
#1
Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
I'm currently having issues with my crappy DELL monitor, in that it just doesn't display the higher resolutions that SGI machines output.

What in your opinion, is the best high-resolution monitor available for use with SGI machines?

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 569
Threads: 80
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
08-14-2018, 03:05 AM
#2
Re: Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
I have the BenQ Zowie 27" Flat Panel. Its a beautiful monitor, super bright, made for sports and gaming. I have zero issues running it with a KVM and Octane, O2 and Indy using the VGA connection. For the PC, I use the HDMI input and use the monitor to switch back and forth. I painted the monitor and added some SGI flare to pay homage to the traditional SGI monitor.
   
   

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-14-2018, 09:02 PM
#3
Re: Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
that's a very nice custom paintjob/flare work! What do you do with that spacemouse?
gijoe77
Tezro

Posts: 469
Threads: 28
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
08-15-2018, 01:43 AM
#4
Re: Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
Very cool job on your monitor! (I like! Big Grin)

I should have maybe have been a little bit more specific in my question, stating: What, in your opinion is the best monitor for use with SGI machines, capable of a resolution of 1920x1154_60 or 1920x1200_60?

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 569
Threads: 80
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
08-15-2018, 02:53 AM
#5
Re: Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
I currently use a Dell 2007FPb for my systems. 20", 1600x1200 resolution support, and works fine with SoG. I tend not to opt for widescreen monitors due to the issues with getting older systems like the Indigo2 to work with them without stretching the image.

 Indigo2 IMPACT R10000 195MHz, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT, 36GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
Fuel R14000 600MHz, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k & 300GB 10k drives, new/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
O2 in storage...
Trippynet
Indigo2 IMPACT

Posts: 89
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
08-15-2018, 12:16 PM
#6
Re: Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
gijoe77 post_id=2422 time=1534297420 user_id=243 Wrote:that's a very nice custom paintjob/flare work! What do you do with that spacemouse?

Thanks.. The space mouse was recently added and I just got the thing working with some of the demos. My plan is to try it out in SI3D to use to rotate the view instead of using the O right mouse (Orbit) command. But setting the spacemouse up in SI3D is not easy. The manual does confirm SI3D (SGI only) has full support for Space Mouse, Buttons/Dials, etc and can be setup withing the Channel options menu.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-16-2018, 03:44 PM
#7
Re: Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
Trippynet post_id=2450 time=1534335389 user_id=67 Wrote:I currently use a Dell 2007FPb for my systems. 20", 1600x1200 resolution support, and works fine with SoG. I tend not to opt for widescreen monitors due to the issues with getting older systems like the Indigo2 to work with them without stretching the image.

My problem here is that Flame 2008 requires a 1080x1154_60 screen to fit its menu-system onto the screen, why it doesn't scale to fit the screen resolution that's in use is beyond me, but it is what it is!

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 569
Threads: 80
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
08-16-2018, 08:39 PM
#8
Re: Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
What kind of monitor are you using? My BenQ has a screen setting called “aspect” that fits the vertical res to the monitor. There is also a setting called 1:1 which operates in absolute resolution based on a 1920x1024 screen. So in theory, if your computer outputs 1900x900, you will end up with a black boarder around the image. In your case, aspect mode would be best. The monitor also simulates 17” up to 24” crt resolutions at 1:1 scale. So with my 27” monitor, I can display the exact size of a 24” crt on the flat panel. I checked this by measuring a 21” crt seething and is was exactly the size of a typ 21 viewable area. It’s a slick monitor.

Octane 2x400mhz R12000A Octane, MXE, 4gig Ram

1600SW O2 400mhz R12000 O2, 1gig Ram AV1 - 250gig Media' raid

Indy 180mhz R5000 Indy XZ 256mb ram

Intel i7-990x 3.46GHz Extreme 6 core / Quadro 5000 & 2 x Tesla C2075 / 24gig Ram

Belkin Omniview SE Pro 4 port KVM connecting all 4 systems displaying on one 27" BenQ Zowie monitor.
bjames
Octane

Posts: 192
Threads: 50
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-18-2018, 02:49 AM
#9
Re: Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
Irinikus post_id=2501 time=1534451960 user_id=62 Wrote:
Trippynet post_id=2450 time=1534335389 user_id=67 Wrote:I currently use a Dell 2007FPb for my systems. 20", 1600x1200 resolution support, and works fine with SoG. I tend not to opt for widescreen monitors due to the issues with getting older systems like the Indigo2 to work with them without stretching the image.

My problem here is that Flame 2008 requires a 1080x1154_60 screen to fit its menu-system onto the screen, why it doesn't scale to fit the screen resolution that's in use is beyond me, but it is what it is!

I think just about any crappy and cheap modern monitor will work via DVI and HD res. Every modern monitor I have hooked up to my Tezro has worked
gijoe77
Tezro

Posts: 469
Threads: 28
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
08-18-2018, 01:57 PM
#10
Re: Best Monitor option for SGI machines?
gijoe77 post_id=2574 time=1534600678 user_id=243 Wrote:
Irinikus post_id=2501 time=1534451960 user_id=62 Wrote:
Trippynet post_id=2450 time=1534335389 user_id=67 Wrote:I currently use a Dell 2007FPb for my systems. 20", 1600x1200 resolution support, and works fine with SoG. I tend not to opt for widescreen monitors due to the issues with getting older systems like the Indigo2 to work with them without stretching the image.

My problem here is that Flame 2008 requires a 1080x1154_60 screen to fit its menu-system onto the screen, why it doesn't scale to fit the screen resolution that's in use is beyond me, but it is what it is!

I think just about any crappy and cheap modern monitor will work via DVI and HD res. Every modern monitor I have hooked up to my Tezro has worked

I think that the problem that I have here is definitely related to the fact that my monitor isn't DVI.

I'm making use of a DVI to HDMI converter, and this is probably my problem.

[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 569
Threads: 80
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
08-18-2018, 02:13 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)