Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
My first taste of Pro Engineer (Wildfire2) on an SGI machine
#1
My first taste of Pro Engineer (Wildfire2) on an SGI machine
I certainly wouldn't call this art, but its the first bit of design that I've attempted on an SGI machine: (In order to work out how the program works.)

[Image: SgkQWUX.jpg]

This software will be useful to me in the future!


Attached Files Image(s)
   
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
(This post was last modified: 09-01-2018, 04:05 AM by Irinikus.)
Irinikus Offline
Tezro

Posts: 491
Threads: 63
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
06-07-2018, 08:04 PM
#2
Re: My first taste of Pro Engineer on an SGI machine
Great old CAD app. I have a Wildfire app, is the same than this Pro Engineer?
O2 O2 R12k  IRIS Crimson  Iris Crimson Elan R4400  Octane  Octane R10k
kikems Offline
Octane

Posts: 93
Threads: 12
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
06-08-2018, 12:51 AM
#3
Re: My first taste of Pro Engineer on an SGI machine
kikems post_id=831 time=1528419085 user_id=81 Wrote:Great old CAD app. I have a Wildfire app, is the same than this Pro Engineer?

It’s the same thing, this is Wildfire2.

Although it doesn’t give you a beautifully rendered output like Maya, it allows you to easily build a property scaled model, and that’s more useful, as far as I’m concerned. (For what I intend using the system for anyway.)
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus Offline
Tezro

Posts: 491
Threads: 63
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
06-08-2018, 02:26 AM
#4
Re: My first taste of Pro Engineer (Wildfire2) on an SGI machine
Yeah I a agree, coming from a science and engineering background I find Pro to be a much more amenable workflow than Maya. Maya is great from an artisan standpoint, ideal for people who sculpt in particular. I think Blender is a pretty good middle ground. Although you can use either Maya or Blender to draw as vertex editors, I find Blender to be much more straightforward at that than Maya. But in overall terms of available features, Maya still blows Blender right out of the water.
Project: Temporarily lost at sea

Plan: World domination! Or something...
vishnu Offline
Octane

Posts: 57
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2017
Find Reply
06-08-2018, 04:33 AM
#5
Re: My first taste of Pro Engineer (Wildfire2) on an SGI machine
...digs around his stash of software to see if he can find ProE for Irix anywhere, hmmm!
Octane  1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30m

O2 300Mhz R12K (R10K upgrade mod),  384Mb, 6.5.30m, FPA  with  1600SW (Original R5K chassis, mobo and cpu in storage)
JacquesT Offline
Octane

Posts: 189
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
06-14-2018, 09:21 PM
#6
Re: My first taste of Pro Engineer (Wildfire2) on an SGI machine
Wow! I've searched working IRIX version of Pro/E Wildfire for years, trying to download from any availble source (p2p as well) multiple cd image sets finding they all are only windows versions.
waldemar72 Offline
O2

Posts: 36
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-07-2018, 11:38 AM
#7
Re: My first taste of Pro Engineer (Wildfire2) on an SGI machine
waldemar72 post_id=2079 time=1533641895 user_id=301 Wrote:Wow! I've searched working IRIX version of Pro/E Wildfire for years, trying to download from any availble source (p2p as well) multiple cd image sets finding they all are only windows versions.

Send “Vishnu” a PM, as I got this software from him, off his personal FTP Server.

I covered the intricacies of licensing this software in my Maya thread in IRIX Software.
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus Offline
Tezro

Posts: 491
Threads: 63
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
08-07-2018, 03:45 PM
#8
Re: My first taste of Pro Engineer (Wildfire2) on an SGI machine
Thanks a lot. I'll try. My reply to your post is my 5th post on forum, so previously I was not able to send PM.
waldemar72 Offline
O2

Posts: 36
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-07-2018, 04:50 PM
#9
Re: My first taste of Pro Engineer (Wildfire2) on an SGI machine
waldemar72 post_id=2087 time=1533660645 user_id=301 Wrote:Thanks a lot. I'll try. My reply to your post is my 5th post on forum, so previously I was not able to send PM.

I have the link to Vishnu's FTP, but I just don't feel right about sharing it without his permission. (He will definitely help you out though.)

If you need help licensing the software once you get it, I will help you, as it doesn't license with your system's lmhostid, but with an ID which it determines and displays it at the bottom left of it's initial setup screen. You will also need to find the execute file and paste a link to it in your Icon Catalogue, as it's not done automatically.


   

   
[Image: rZbyrYx.png]
Irinikus Offline
Tezro

Posts: 491
Threads: 63
Joined: Dec 2017
Discord: Irinikus
Find Reply
08-07-2018, 04:56 PM
#10
Re: My first taste of Pro Engineer (Wildfire2) on an SGI machine
Thanks. As I've mentioned above I have 5posts so I was able to send PM to Vishnu. Thanks God for rising of forums.irix.cc. I was a silent nekochanner for years. I've learned lots of things there, so rapid disappearance of nekochan was a shock.
Thanks for your interest. I think I can manage licensing but now I feel little bit uncomfortable because I'm on vacation and have only IPad with weak 3G connection to world, far from my machines.
waldemar72 Offline
O2

Posts: 36
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2018
Find Reply
08-07-2018, 05:08 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)