Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
#11
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
I use firefox3 with disabled Javascript on my Octane quite often. For small things like forums it's okay, but anything more complex is being done on my PC. I use scp to copy files across my PC and my Octane, this works great.
eudatux23
Octane² and O2

Posts: 66
Threads: 4
Joined: Aug 2018
Website Find Reply
03-06-2019, 09:28 PM
#12
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
I went to Ian Mapelson's site with Netscape 4.8 last night, for stuff 'n giggles.

Damn is that ****FAST****. That's a faster browsing experience than anything I've seen in 10 years.
Axatax
Octane

Posts: 33
Threads: 4
Joined: Feb 2019
Find Reply
03-06-2019, 10:21 PM
#13
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
Oh, for the bygone days when the bottleneck in web browsing was the connection speed...

Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Proteus/2, Nord Lead 2, Behringer Model D
commodorejohn
PDP-X

Posts: 157
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
03-07-2019, 05:32 AM
#14
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
(03-06-2019, 10:21 PM)Axatax Wrote:  I went to Ian Mapelson's site with Netscape 4.8 last night, for stuff 'n giggles.

Damn is that ****FAST****.  That's a faster browsing experience than anything I've seen in 10 years.

Agreed,  also doesn't hurt that his site is almost totally text based.

[Image: mnTvJeq.png]
(This post was last modified: 03-07-2019, 05:36 AM by BackPlaner.)
BackPlaner
Jurassic Technologist

Posts: 179
Threads: 26
Joined: Sep 2018
Find Reply
03-07-2019, 05:36 AM
#15
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
Here's a small trick on how to get this forum running better inside Firefox 3:
eudatux23
Octane² and O2

Posts: 66
Threads: 4
Joined: Aug 2018
Website Find Reply
03-10-2019, 10:03 PM
#16
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
Thanks for showing us this trick, it makes things much better!

[Image: TNWhJMc.png]
Irinikus
Connoisseur

Posts: 926
Threads: 159
Joined: Dec 2017
Website Find Reply
03-11-2019, 05:55 AM
#17
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
(03-06-2019, 02:52 PM)Irinikus Wrote:  I have my Tezro linked to my Mac via a serial link as well as a NFS, so if I need any files for the Tezro, I generally use the Mac to surf the web and then just send them over to the Tezro via the NFS.

It works very well for me.

However it was fun to install FF3 and gauge its performance. (Just for educational purposes.)

Funny how I came up with a very similar solution out of necessity. In my case I search for files on *any* machine at home, generally Windows based, and make them available through simple web servers (http://www.pablosoftwaresolutions.com/ht...erver.html) to the whole LAN.

Works.

Other than that, I believe modern web browsing is possible on legacy machines as long as you maintain the software (read: browsers + deps - especially openssl which runs without problems) for it. Light-weight browsers exist for many reasons, one being that you just don't need a bloated firefox et al to get decent browsing.
TruHobbyist
Octane

Posts: 74
Threads: 9
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
03-11-2019, 06:18 AM
#18
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
Hello,

I've just install Firefox 3 on my Octane and it works fine and fast.
I've got 2 questions :

1- Have you got the missing caracter (code 2026 - certainly the "…" glyph) in your menus ? Any idea to fix it ?

2- About changing icon :

I would like to change the basic "exe" icon to a Firefox icon (.fti / .ftr).
I put firefox.fti in /usr/lib/filetype/local/iconlib
And firefox.ftr in usr/lib/filetype/local

I remember, I have to give a unique tag number in firefox.ftr :

Code:
TYPE FirefoxExecutable
    MATCH       tag == 0x100013;
    LEGEND      Firefox
    SUPERTYPE   Executable
    CMD OPEN    $LEADER $REST
    CMD ALTOPEN launch -c $LEADER $REST
    CMD DROP    $TARGET $SELECTED
    ICON {
        if (opened) {
        include("../iconlib/generic.exec.open.fti");
            include("iconlib/firefox.fti");
        } else {
        include("../iconlib/generic.exec.closed.fti");
            include("iconlib/firefox.fti");
        }
    }

Is there a way to list all the tags used in the system ?

———————————————————————————————
Nevermind if SGI is dead ... In SGI I trust (^_^!)
Octane 1x400Mhz / 2Go Ram / V8 / Irix 6.5.26
(This post was last modified: 03-12-2019, 05:11 PM by def13.)
def13
Octane

Posts: 64
Threads: 10
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
03-12-2019, 04:26 PM
#19
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
(03-12-2019, 04:26 PM)def13 Wrote:  Hello,

I've just install Firefox 3 on my Octane and it works fine and fast.
I've got 2 questions :

1- Have you got the missing caracter (code 2026 - certainly the "…" glyph) in your menus ? Any idea to fix it ?

2- About changing icon :

I would like to change the basic "exe" icon to a Firefox icon (.fti / .ftr).
I put firefox.fti in /usr/lib/filetype/local/iconlib
And firefox.ftr in usr/lib/filetype/local

I remember, I have to give a unique tag number in firefox.ftr :

Code:
TYPE FirefoxExecutable
    MATCH       tag == 0x100013;
    LEGEND      Firefox
    SUPERTYPE   Executable
    CMD OPEN    $LEADER $REST
    CMD ALTOPEN launch -c $LEADER $REST
    CMD DROP    $TARGET $SELECTED
    ICON {
        if (opened) {
        include("../iconlib/generic.exec.open.fti");
            include("iconlib/firefox.fti");
        } else {
        include("../iconlib/generic.exec.closed.fti");
            include("iconlib/firefox.fti");
        }
    }

Is there a way to list all the tags used in the system ?

Not sure if it's of help, but the below is from the old Neko install and customise entry.


Code:
Install new Icons
For each .fti icon file you will need a corresponding .ftr file. These ftr files should go in /usr/lib/filetype/install/ and the fti files should go in /usr/lib/filetype/install/iconlib/. Here is my firefox ftr for example:

TYPE firefoxExecutable
  SUPERTYPE Executable
  MATCH tag == 770069;
  LEGEND web browser
  CMD OPEN      /usr/nekoware/bin/firefox
  CMD DROP       /usr/nekoware/bin/firefox $SELECTED
  ICON           {
                 if (opened) {
                          include("../iconlib/generic.exec.open.fti");
                 } else {
                          include("../iconlib/generic.exec.closed.fti");
                 }
                 include("/usr/lib/filetype/install/iconlib/firefox.fti"):
}
Notes on the FTR example:
Obviously replace the firefox part of "firefoxExecutable" with the correct name for a given app. If it were a script instead of an executable you'd write that instead.

Supertype: Either executable or script

Match tag numbers: First go to the directory of the executable/script that you want to give an icon, and check to see if it has a match number already. Use the command tag -q myapp to do this. Usually developers are supposed to tag their stuff and you should not use a number that has already been taken by another program, but it's not like there are a ton of apps on irix, and the chances of picking a random number that has already been used is small. I used "tag 770069 firefox" to give firefox that match number as you can see. Also make sure not to forget this guy at the end of the number ---> ;

Legend: what you type here is the description you get when you right-click > Get Info. A short description of the program.

The last part of the .ftr is self-explanatory. This is a bare-bones ftr, they can have more funtionality besides drag & drop added to them.

Wrapping it up
Once you have your fti & ftr files in place change directory to /usr/lib/filetype and make sure you're a super user (type su, and then give root password). Enter "make -u". After it has finished doing its thing, log out and then log back in.

If everything was setup correctly your programs should now have shiny new icons. :)

Courtesy of DaJuice.

Octane  1x 400Mhz R12k, 1Gb, V8, 6.5.30m (silent fans)
O2 + 1600SW 300Mhz R12K (R10K upgrade mod),  384Mb, 6.5.30m (silent fans)
JacquesT
Octane & O²

Posts: 384
Threads: 46
Joined: May 2018
Find Reply
03-12-2019, 06:03 PM
#20
RE: Browsing the "Modern Web" on a Silicon Graphics machine?
Thanks JacquesT,

It's exactly what I've read on Nekochan and what I'm looking for about tag number.

———————————————————————————————
Nevermind if SGI is dead ... In SGI I trust (^_^!)
Octane 1x400Mhz / 2Go Ram / V8 / Irix 6.5.26
def13
Octane

Posts: 64
Threads: 10
Joined: Jun 2018
Find Reply
03-12-2019, 07:45 PM


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)